Share “OU football: Former Sooners Corey Wilson,...”

OU football: Former Sooners Corey Wilson, Travis Wilson to start non-profit to help children

by Jason Kersey Published: April 10, 2012

* Athletic Director's Leadership Award: student-athletes who demonstrate extraordinary leadership in representing OU and their teams

Whitney Hand (basketball), Megan Ferguson (gymnastics), Nicole Furmanek (rowing).

* Conference Medal: seniors who have the most outstanding record in athletics and academics

Brittany Borman (track and field), Patrick Piscitelli (gymnastics).

* Most inspiring faculty members

Joyce Brandes (educational psychology), Douglas Gaffin (zoology), Steven Livesey (history of science), Sacra Nicholas (instructional leadership and academic curriculum).

* Dan Gibbens Outstanding Scholar Athletes of the Year: student-athletes who have attained the highest level of scholarly and athletic success

Suzy Boulavsky (volleyball), Jessica Engel (track and field), Megan Ferguson (gymnastics), Gabe Ikard (football), Whitney Hand (basketball), Jeremy Sudbury (track and field), Katherine Nutman (soccer).

* Athletic Council Achievement Award: student-athletes who have overcome great personal, academic, and/or emotional odds to achieve academic success

Jelena Cerina (basketball), Natasha Kelley (gymnastics), Peta Maree Lancaster (tennis), Corey Wilson (football).

* Faculty Retirement Recognition

Connie Dillon (faculty athletics representative).

* Athletic Council Service Award: student-athletes who have made important contributions to the community through their commitment to service

Whitney Hand (basketball), William Kogel (track and field), Kayla Nowak (gymnastics), Brooke Sheppard (rowing), Christopher Stehl (gymnastics), Sherine Wells (track and field).

* Jay Myers Awards: freshman student-athletes who best combine excellence in scholarship and athletic potential

Rebecca Clark (gymnastics), Dalton Dennis (wrestling), Brandon Doughty (track and field), Michael Squires (gymnastics), Jessica Vest (softball), Caroline Weir (volleyball).

* Sooner Schooner Scholastic Award: football letterman who maintained the highest grade-point average throughout his career

Daniel Franklin (football)

* Athletics Council's Academic and Student Life Award for Coaches: coach who demonstrates exemplary encouragement of the personal development and academic achivement of student athletes

Jan Ross (basketball)

* Champs/Life Skills Team Competition Award: team that has done the most away from its sport

Women's gymnastics

* Prentice Gautt Award: student-athletes who demonstrate dignity, integrity and strength of character

Sam Proctor (football), Sherine Wells (tennis).

* Gerald Lage Award: Big 12 student-athletes who have earned 100 hours with a 3.8 GPA, be a letter winner and be in residence at their institutino for at least one academic year.

Suzy Boulavsky (volleyball), Ivy Brown (rowing), Natalie Crain (track and field), Molly Ferguson (track and field), Kelly Short (golf).

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Baltimore scrambles to save tourism, conventions |
  2. 2
    Excited Josh Hamilton happy to be home with Rangers
  3. 3
    Sesame Street Does Avengers With ''Aveggies'' Parody
  4. 4
    Tulsa city auditor arrested on DUI complaint
  5. 5
    Report: Men's college basketball likely headed toward 30-second shot clock
+ show more