Share “OU football: Frank Shannon, Eric Striker,...”

OU football: Frank Shannon, Eric Striker, Charles Tapper named to Bednarik Award List Published: July 7, 2014

A trio of Sooners was named to the Chuck Bednarik Award List on Monday.

OU linebackers Frank Shannon and Eric Striker, and defensive end Charles Tapper are among the 76 players on the initial watch list for the nation's top defensive player. Stanford leads the way with four players on the preseason watch list, while the Sooners are among seven schools (Georgia, Michigan State, USC, Texas, Clemson and Alabama) with three players each on the list.

Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald was the 2013 Bednarik Award winner.

See this story on