Share “OU men's basketball in postseason is not a...”

OU men's basketball in postseason is not a crazy idea

BY MIKE BALDWIN, Staff Writer, Published: February 20, 2011

NORMAN — Since Oklahoma probably will finish with a losing record, most assume the Sooners (12-14) have no shot at postseason play.

That's not true.

OU's season probably will end at the Big 12 Men's Basketball Tournament in Kansas City. But a losing record doesn't prohibit teams from postseason play.

When the NCAA took over the NIT six years ago, two changes were implemented:

*Schools that win regular-season conference titles but don't win their postseason tournament receive automatic NIT berths.

*Teams no longer are required to post a .500 or better record.

Teams with losing records also can be invited to the College Basketball Invitational.

But teams must have a winning record to be invited to the CIT, the postseason tournament, which targets mid-major schools.

Say what?

You didn't know there were four men's college basketball postseason tournaments?

The CBI, a 16-team tournament, began three years ago. Tulsa won the inaugural tournament in 2008.

The CIT also is a 16-team tournament that began two years ago. Old Dominion won the inaugural tournament, Missouri State last year.

For the Sooners, the NIT would be the ideal situation because of exposure (TV contract with ESPN) and the tournament's rich tradition.

But even though the .500 rule was changed the NIT still hasn't invited a team with a losing record.

That's why with an RPI of 132, Oklahoma's best shot probably is the CBI, which featured five teams with RPIs of 140 or lower last season.

The CBI has invited four teams with losing records its first three seasons — Oregon State (14-17) last year; St. John's (16-17) and Oregon State (13-17) two years ago and Cincinnati (13-18) in the inaugural 2008 tournament.

Continue reading this story on the...

Men's postseason tournaments A record 132 teams will be needed to fill out four men's postseason basketball tournament brackets:

*NCAA: The field has expanded to 68 teams with four play-in games that feature the final at-large qualifiers.

*NIT: A 32-team single-elimination tournament. Games are played on college campuses. The semifinals and finals are held at Madison Square Garden.

*CBI: Originated in 2008, the 16-team tournament includes teams from BCS conferences. Games are played on college campuses, culminating with a best-of-three final.

*CIT: Originated in 2009, the 16-team tournament targets schools outside the six major conferences. Games are played on college campuses and a .500 or better record is required.

Note: The NIT and CBI do not require a .500 or better record to be invited.


  1. 1
    ONEOK Partners to invest up to $100 million to expand capacity in Permian Basin
  2. 2
    Report: Thunder signs Josh Huestis to 4-year deal
  3. 3
    Thunder TV analyst Nancy Lieberman expected to become Kings assistant coach
  4. 4
    Dodgers send Olivera to Braves in three-way trade
  5. 5
    MTV's 'Real World' sets casting call in Oklahoma City
+ show more


× Trending ou Article