Share “OU women’s notebook: Tickets on sale...”

OU women’s notebook: Tickets on sale for Kansas City

By Jenni Carlson, Staff Writer, Modified: March 24, 2010 at 4:10 am •  Published: March 24, 2010

The Sooner point guard is among 12 finalists for the award, which debuted in 1978 as women’s college basketball’s first national player of the year award.

The winner will be announced during the Women’s Final Four in San Antonio.

The other finalists are: Jayne Appel, Stanford; Tina Charles, Connecticut; Alysha Clark, Middle Tennessee; Kelsey Griffin, Nebraska; Jantel Lavender, Ohio State; Maya Moore, Connecticut; Nnemkadi Ogwumike, Stanford; Samantha Prahalis, Ohio State; Jasmine Thomas, Duke; Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga; Monica Wright, Virginia.

Arkansas-Little Rock forward Chastity Reed took a kick to the back of the head late in the second half.

She tipped a loose ball and fell to the court. In the scrum for the ball, Sooner forward Amanda Thompson tried to step over Reed, but her foot caught the back of her head.

Reed stayed on the floor, holding her head for several minutes.

"I’m still seeing stars,” she said after the game.

More than half a dozen former OU players were spotted in the Lloyd Noble Center crowd Tuesday night.

Among the past players: Courtney Paris, Chelsi Welch, Jamie Talbert and Stephanie Simon.


  1. 1
    Summer well spent: Youths shadow professionals in mentoring program
  2. 2
    Norman residents disturbed after seeing vulgar, racist graffiti on homes, vehicles
  3. 3
    Vinita police chief: Extreme sunburn case still under investigation, drawing international media...
  4. 4
    Hundreds pack memorial service for man killed at north Tulsa park
  5. 5
    There’s a New Restaurant That Specializes in Potato-Chip Sandwiches
+ show more


× Trending ou Article