Share “Patience, faith guide Oklahoma's newest...”

Patience, faith guide Oklahoma's newest teacher of the year

by The Oklahoman Editorial Board Modified: September 19, 2013 at 7:11 pm •  Published: September 20, 2013

We congratulate Markes and the other finalists: Barbara Bayless, Choctaw-Nicoma Park; Frank Cooper, Sand Springs; Jentri Guinn, Porter; Betina Jones-Parra, Noble; Tera Landrum, Broken Arrow; Dana Moore, Lawton; Therese Rawlinson, Bartlesville; Mara Richards, Durant; Susan Rindal, Vanoss; Chelsea Roberts, Woodward; and Eddie Lou Strimple, Enid.

While the politics of education are often in the news, we're thankful for the reminder that in classrooms across the state, teachers such as Markes and the other finalists are making it their life's work to invest in the lives of students with the goal of developing minds and hearts. They all deserve our sincere thanks.

by The Oklahoman Editorial Board
The Oklahoman Editorial Board consists of Gary Pierson, President and CEO of The Oklahoma Publishing Company; Christopher P. Reen, president and publisher of The Oklahoman; Kelly Dyer Fry, editor and vice president of news; Christy Gaylord...
+ show more


  1. 1
    KTEN Texoma: Missing boaters found safely on Lake Texoma
  2. 2
    Cystic Fibrosis Ireland welcomes potential new treatment
  3. 3
    Research says weight loss surgery more helpful in treating Type 2 diabetes compared to lifestyle...
  4. 4
    10 Reasons Why Taylor Swift’s Fourth of July Ruled America
  5. 5
    Princess Charlotte's christening will have Diana at its very heart
+ show more