Share “Pirates upset by no-call in loss to...”

Pirates upset by no-call in loss to Diamondbacks

Published on NewsOK Modified: August 3, 2014 at 8:50 pm •  Published: August 3, 2014
Advertisement

PHOENIX (AP) — Manager Clint Hurdle and the Pittsburgh Pirates lingered on the field to argue with the umpires, to no avail. It was all over.

The Pirates lost 3-2 to the Diamondbacks on Sunday when Arizona runner Nick Ahmed put his arms up as he slid into second base and deflected a potential double play relay in the 10th inning.

With runners at the corners and one out, Andy Marte hit a grounder to shortstop Jordy Mercer, who flipped to second baseman Jayson Nix for a forceout.

Ahmed came in with his arms raised up, and was hit by Nix's throw. The ball rolled away, allowing Tuffy Gosewich to score the winning run.

Hurdle argued for runner's interference.

"The rule book states is the only way you can call runner's interference is if they alter his slide to try and prevent a throw," Hurdle said. "In their opinion, in the second base umpire's, he did not alter his slide. He threw his hands up like most guys do in a slide and unfortunately it was right in the direct line with the ball.

"I felt there was an extra effort in getting his hands up, in the way."

There was no video review of the final play, and crew chief Ron Kulpa said the call couldn't be challenged.

After the game, the umpires looked at a replay for their own sake. Second base umpire Lance Barrett stood by his no-call on interference and Kulpa backed him.

"It has to be an unintended play for him to be out for interference. It has to have been willful and deliberate with obvious intent to break up a double play," Kulpa said. "The guy has to do something obviously, willfully, intentionally to break up that double play. Guys slide into second base all the time with their hands up."

"When Lance told him what he had, we talked about it but Clint wasn't very irate. It's a big play. We looked at the tape, and Lance got it right," Kulpa added.

Ahmed had a bandage over his arm after the game.

"I was anticipating if the ball was on the ground trying to go in hard and breaking up two," Ahmed said. "I went in hard and slid late, and it looked like Nix kind of dropped down to try to make the throw and it just hit me in the arm."

Gosewich doubled with one out in the 10th and Ahmed walked. A wild pitch by Mark Melancon (1-3) moved Gosewich to third.

"In the umpires' opinion, we won the game," Diamondbacks manager Kirk Gibson said. "I had nothing to appeal. I was good with that call."

Continue reading this story on the...