Share “Ranking the Big 12 football championship...”

Ranking the Big 12 football championship games

by Berry Tramel Published: December 2, 2010

Ranking the 14 Big 12 championship games:

1. 1998: Texas A&M 36, Kansas State 33, at St. Louis. Branndon Stewart threw two TD passes as the Aggies rallied from a 15-point deficit to win in overtime and keep Wildcats out of national title game.

2. 2009: Texas 13, Nebraska 12, at Arlington, Texas. First, the Huskers won. Then one second was put back on the clock, and Hunter Lawrence kicked a 46-yard field goal to put Texas in the national title game.

3. 1996: Texas 37, Nebraska 27, at St. Louis. Roll Left. On fourth-and-1 from its own 28-yard line, leading 30-27, Texas didn't punt. Quarterback James Brown threw to a wide open Derek Lewis for a 61-yard gain.

4. 2000: Oklahoma 27, Kansas State 24, at Kansas City. Josh Heupel's 17-yard TD pass to Andre Woolfolk broke a 17-17 tie in the fourth quarter, and the Sooners reached the national title game.

5. 2001: Colorado 39, Texas 37, at Irving, Texas. The Longhorns were headed to the national title game, but the Buffs jumped to a 36-17 lead, then held off a Major Applewhite-led rally.

6. 2003: Kansas State 35, Oklahoma 7, at Kansas City. Everyone expected a rout by the No. 1-ranked Sooners. Instead, it was a rout the other way, with Darren Sproles rushing for 235 yards.

Continue reading this story on the...