Share “Referee: Kramer was disoriented after blow...”

Referee: Kramer was disoriented after blow to head

Published on NewsOK Modified: July 17, 2014 at 6:18 am •  Published: July 17, 2014
Advertisement

ROME (AP) — Germany midfielder Christoph Kramer was disoriented and confused after taking a heavy blow to the head early in the World Cup final, according to the match's referee.

"Shortly after the blow, Kramer came to me asking 'Ref, is this the final?'" Nicola Rizzoli told the Gazzetta dello Sport on Thursday. "I thought he was joking and made him repeat the question and then he said, 'I need to know if this is really the final.' When I said, 'Yes,' he concluded, 'Thanks, it was important to know that.'"

Rizzoli said he let Germany midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger know about the exchange during Sunday's game but Kramer continued playing for 14 minutes following the collision with Argentina defender Ezequiel Garay.

He was eventually replaced in the 31st after slumping to the ground with a suspected concussion. Germany went on to beat Argentina 1-0 in extra time to lift the trophy.

Kramer's continuation in the game after suffering an apparent concussion revived concerns about the way football deals with the issue, as there were worrying head injuries for several other players earlier in the tournament.

Argentina players Javier Mascherano and Pablo Zabaleta also played on in their team's semifinal against the Netherlands after hard knocks to the head. And Uruguay defender Alvaro Pereira refused to leave the field after being hit in the head during the group stage.

The incidents have led to debate over whether FIFA should allow a temporary substitution so a player can get a head injury properly checked. FIFA medical chief D'Hooghe doesn't oppose the idea.

Continue reading this story on the...