Share “Republican wins special Oklahoma Senate seat”

Republican wins special Oklahoma Senate seat

Ann ‘A.J.' Griffin's victory in the election for Oklahoma Senate District 20 restores the GOP's largest total in the upper chamber.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Published: April 4, 2012

A Republican easily won Tuesday's special election to fill a reconfigured state Senate that covers north central Oklahoma.

Ann “A.J.” Griffin won 3,049 votes, or 79.1 percent of the vote, over Rev. Magnus Scott Sr., according to unofficial results from the state Election Board. Scott got 807 votes, or 20.9 percent.

“It's kind of overwhelming,” Griffin said. “I'm very humbled by the support that we received.”

Turnout was light; about 8.6 percent of the registered voters in the Senate District 20 seat voted.

Griffin's victory gives Republicans 32 members in the upper chamber, their largest number since the 2008 elections. She succeeds David Myers, a Republican from Ponca City, who died in November.

The state Election Board will meet next week to certify the election results.

“We're very pleased with the results of the election and very anxious to get busy and get started working for the citizens of Senate District 20,” Griffin said.

The Senate District 20 seat was reconfigured last year as part of the legislative redistricting process and encompasses a different area. The new Senate District 20 post covers Logan, Noble and Pawnee counties and parts of Kingfisher County. It used to cover Grant and Kay counties.

Continue reading this story on the...