SEC's college football dominance is still relatively new

College football's national championships once were spread around quite liberally. From 1998 through 2003, the six AP national champions came from six conferences
by Berry Tramel Published: December 8, 2013

Heck, time was, not only did no conference dominate, being in any conference seemed a deterrent to finishing No. 1. From 1982 through 1989, independents won six of the eight titles. Penn State in 1982 and 1986, Miami in 1983 and 1987, and Notre Dame in 1988. And one of the two champs from a conference was Brigham Young (1984), from the Western Athletic. The only champion from a major conference in that eight-season span was OU (1985) from the Big Eight.

Those days are long gone. These days, the SEC dominates. Seven straight years of titles, spread over four schools. And the program that's won three of those seven, Alabama, awaits OU in the Sugar Bowl.

| |

by Berry Tramel
Berry Tramel, a lifelong Oklahoman, sports fan and newspaper reader, joined The Oklahoman in 1991 and has served as beat writer, assistant sports editor, sports editor and columnist. Tramel grew up reading four daily newspapers — The...
+ show more


Trending Now


  1. 1
    ​This Shot-for-Shot Frozen-'Thriller' Mashup Is Damn Near Perfect
  2. 2
    VIDEO: Kendrick Perkins lobbies for physical play before Game 3
  3. 3
    Sixth-grade teacher arrested on sexual-assault complaint
  4. 4
    CTB/McGraw-Hill executives apologize for testing problems
  5. 5
    Oklahoma City Thunder: Russell Westbrook refuses to call FedEx Forum 'Grindhouse'
+ show more