Simeone won't rule Costa out of Champions final

Published on NewsOK Modified: May 19, 2014 at 12:26 pm •  Published: May 19, 2014
Advertisement
;

MADRID (AP) — Atletico Madrid isn't ruling Diego Costa out of the Champions League final yet despite the striker's chances of playing looking slim.

Costa limped off early in Saturday's 1-1 draw at Barcelona that clinched Atletico's first Spanish league title in 18 years, and the club said on Monday the Brazilian born forward had suffered a right hamstring injury that will be evaluated day-to-day.

Atletico plays city rival Real Madrid in Saturday's final at Estadio do Sport, where it could complete a historic double and ensure the greatest season in club history with a victory.

"The week has just started, there are still some days until we have to decide. It's still early," Simeone said on Monday from the Vicente Calderon Stadium. "I'm convinced that this is not a game to be played at 80 percent. He has to be 100 percent to play."

Atletico returns to a European Cup final for just the second time, and first since it lost to Bayern Munich 40 years ago in the only replay in the competition's history.