Share “Six join Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame”

Six join Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame

Ida Blackburn, Elaine Dodd, Lou Kerr, Terri Watkins, Nancy Miller and Linda Haneborg were inducted Thursday into the Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame.
BY MICHAEL MCNUTT Published: April 12, 2013

Three women with television ties — including the local host for “Romper Room” more than 50 years ago — and women associated with law enforcement and business were inducted Thursday into the Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame.

Ida Blackburn, who became host of the syndicated children's show in 1958, said women need to be passionate about their work. Blackburn, who would remain on local television until 1975, said she owed her success to her father who encouraged her to get involved in television. She was Oklahoma City's first woman to own a public relations business.

Others inducted during a ceremony at the Oklahoma History Center were:

• Elaine Dodd, a pioneer in the law enforcement area. She was the first female undercover agent and then director of the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control. During her 22-year career with the agency, she wrote the legislation for the nation's first computerized drug tracking of prescription drugs.

• Lou Kerr, a businesswoman and advocate for education and the arts. Kerr has spent her life as an ambassador for Oklahoma and to the betterment of life for women, youth and families.

Continue reading this story on the...