Share “Soccer war tale of the tape: USL PRO vs. NASL”

Soccer war tale of the tape: USL PRO vs. NASL

By Rhiannon Walker, Staff Writer, Published: July 2, 2013

*The NASL plays a Spring Season (April 6 to July 4), with the winner earning the right to host the Soccer Bowl championship in November.  Then the Fall Season (Aug. 3 to Nov. 2) winner joins the Spring winner in the Soccer Bowl

*The NASL currently plays 98 games per season (42 in the spring and 56 in the fall with the addition of an eighth team, the New York Cosmos). This will increase as more teams are added

In 2014, three teams will commence play in the NASL: Indy Eleven, Ottawa Fury and Virginia Cavalry. The league has been linked with Los Angeles, San Francisco, Jacksonville and Oklahoma City as future places of expansion.

*The NASL is a separate entity from MLS


*The USL is in its third decade of operations

*In 2013, United Soccer Leagues PRO began a multiyear partnership with Major League Soccer to strengthen the competition in both leagues

*There are 13 teams in United Soccer Leagues PRO, including expansion teams in Phoenix and Tampa. Two more teams have been approved to join the league for 2014 in Sacramento and Oklahoma City

*League play runs from April through September, and it consists of 26 regular-season matches, including two MLS interleague games

*USL PRO teams compete in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup as well as various domestic and international exhibitions.

*Three teams have moved from ULS PRO to the MLS: the Seattle Sounders, Portland Timbers and Vancouver Whitecaps.