Share “SOCHI SCENE: Explaining the net rule”

SOCHI SCENE: Explaining the net rule

Published on NewsOK Modified: February 15, 2014 at 9:22 am •  Published: February 15, 2014
Advertisement

SOCHI, Russia (AP) — It appeared Russia took a 3-2 lead on the United States in Saturday's preliminary men's hockey game when Fedor Tyutin's slapshot from the point beat Team USA goalie Jonathan Quick.

But after a video review, the goal was waved off.

Why?

Because Quick immediately argued with the officials to review it because the net had come off its moorings before the puck went in.

But the International Ice Hockey Federation rulebook states that the goal should be disallowed "if the net has been displaced from its normal position, or the frame of the goal net is not completely flat on the ice."

— By Jon Krawczynski — Twitter http://twitter.com/APKrawczynski

___

Associated Press reporters are filing dispatches about happenings in and around Sochi during the 2014 Winter Games. Follow AP journalists covering the Olympics on Twitter: http://apne.ws/1c3WMiu


AROUND THE WEB

  1. 1
    OKC Thunder's Russell Westbrook Marries Nina Earl in Star-Studded Beverly Hills Ceremony
  2. 2
    Obama Renames Mt. McKinley 'Denali' Ahead of Alaska Trip
  3. 3
    2015 US Open -- Maria Sharapova announces she will not play
  4. 4
    Neurologist and Writer Oliver Sacks Dies at 82
  5. 5
    What "Games Of Thrones" Characters Look Like In The Books
+ show more

FEATURED JOBS



× Trending sports Article