Share “Sonics will stay in division

Sonics will stay in division
League officials believe structure will work well with OKC

By Darnell Mayberry Published: April 21, 2008
The Sonics are staying put.

Not in Seattle but in the Northwest Division.

According to league sources, the NBA will not realign any divisions or teams to accommodate the relocation of the Sonics to Oklahoma City. Whenever the team lands in Oklahoma, either next season or in 2010, it will continue in its current division, which includes Utah, Portland, Minnesota and Denver.

Although Oklahoma City is geographically closest to Southwest Division teams — Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, Memphis and New Orleans — the league isn't interested in undoing the system's current balance by adding a sixth team to the division. The 30-team NBA has six five-team divisions.

Realigning Memphis or New Orleans to add Oklahoma City to the Southwest Division also isn't an option, sources said, because of how well the division's current structure works. On a smaller scale, the league also wants to avoid an Oklahoma City team joining the Southwest Division mix and creating a glut of divisional teams competing in such close proximity.

Mavs owner Mark Cuban, one of two owners who opposed the Sonics' relocation request last week, has said too many teams in the Texas and Oklahoma region is bad for the league.

"There's not enough TV weight,” Cuban said earlier this month before the Sonics played the Mavs in Dallas. "There's not enough demand from a TV perspective from outside that little area. It's nice, but when you've got San Antonio versus Dallas, which you'd think is a great marquee matchup, no one outside our area (cares). That's bad. You don't expand the market at all.”

The league last approved realignment in 2003 to accommodate the expansion Charlotte Bobcats for the start of the 2004-05 season. New Orleans moved from the East to the West, and Charlotte was placed in the East. That's also when the league went from two divisions per conference — Atlantic and Central in the East and Midwest and Pacific in the West — to its current six-division structure.

Continue reading this story on the...