Share “Special Election Set For Apache Committee”

Special Election Set For Apache Committee

Oklahoman Published: February 2, 1995

The Apache Tribe, based in Anadarko, will have a special election Saturday to fill vacant positions on the Apache Business Committee.

The positions open are vice chairperson, secretary/treasurer and business committee member. Business committee members elected will serve until the regular election is held in March 1996.

The list of candidates includes: - Vice chairperson: Martha Banderas, Apache; Richard Chalepah, Carnegie.

- Secretary/Treasurer: Emily Saupitty, Apache; Augustine (Methvin) Maldonado, Carnegie; Houston Klinekole Sr., Apache.

- Committee member: Sandra J. Maroquin, Apache; Ruth L. Wetselline, Anadarko; Mary (Jay) Hawkins, Fort Cobb.

Voting will be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the following locations: - The Community Service Center-Apache Tribal Complex, 601 E Colorado, Anadarko; - Senior Citizens Dining Hall, 113 W Evans, Apache; - First Apache Indian Baptist Church, two miles west of Fort Cobb on Indian Road.

The election will be conducted under the auspices of the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Results will be posted at the Apache Tribal Complex in Anadarko and the Anadarko Agency. Challenges to election results must be made in writing by 4:30 p.m. Feb. 8 and addressed to the superintendent of the Anadarko Agency.

Installation of the new officers will be at 10 a.m. Feb. 11 at the Apache Tribal Complex. BIOG: NAME:

Archive ID: 600513 has disabled the comments for this article.


  1. 1
    Tulsa man pleads guilty to murder for setting house fire that killed 5-year-old
  2. 2
    Police find hatchet, protective gear in house where Bever family members were slain
  3. 3
    Oklahoma City police: Two arrested after woman sexually assaulted in work freezer
  4. 4
    OU football fans among Top 10 ... in grammar
  5. 5
    Wrestling legend Jimmy 'Superfly' Snuka charged in girlfriend's 1983 death
+ show more


× Trending news Article