Share “Staff of The Oklahoman wins 39 honors, 12...”

Staff of The Oklahoman wins 39 honors, 12 of them 1st-place

Oklahoman Modified: April 1, 2007 at 5:54 am •  Published: April 1, 2007
The Oklahoman won 12 first-place awards and 39 awards overall Saturday in the 2006 Carl Rogan awards sponsored by The Associated Press/Oklahoma News Executives.

The competition was for AP member newspapers in Oklahoma, Arkansas and Texas for the 2006 calendar year. The Oklahoman competed in the highest circulation division, Division A.

Three first-place awards went to Oklahoman photographers.

Bryan Terry, Chris Landsberger, John Clanton, Michael Downes, Steve Gooch, Bill Waugh and David McDaniel won for their photo package of wildfires that struck the state in the winter of 2006.

Terry also won a first-place award for his Web site photos published June 10 of a women's football team.

Landsberger won first-place honors for his Oct. 29 photograph of University of Oklahoma defensive coordinator Brent Venables reacting to an OU interception.

Tony Thornton won first place in investigative reporting for his June 18 stories on legislative earmarks that were investigated by the FBI.

The Oklahoman's Business staff won first place in business spot news for its June 24 coverage of the merger between Kerr-McGee and Anadarko Petroleum.

The Oklahoman's Sports staff won first place in spot sports news for its Aug. 3 coverage of the dismissal of former OU quarterback Rhett Bomar.

Jenni Carlson won first place in sports feature writing for her Jan. 25 story, "61 More Reasons to Love Chris Paul.”

Bryan Painter won first place in personal columns for columns published July 9, Aug. 24 and Sept. 28.

Steve Lackmeyer won first place in reviews for reviews published Jan. 13, April 7 and June 2.

Matt Clayton won first place on non-page one layout for pages published Aug. 27, Oct. 29 and Dec. 17.

Moran Elwell took first-place honors in headline writing for headlines she wrote on Jan. 15, Feb. 4 and May 18.

The staff also took top honors, winning first place for its Web site.

Other Oklahoman winners
•General excellence: second, The Oklahoman.

•Investigative reporting: third, Ann Weaver, Randy Ellis and Nolan Clay, for a three-part series on the Kelsey Briggs case published Jan. 8-10.

•Public service: third, Oklahoman staff, Healthy Lifestyles special section.

Continue reading this story on the... has disabled the comments for this article.

Related Articles


  1. 1
    ONEOK Partners to invest up to $100 million to expand capacity in Permian Basin
  2. 2
    Report: Thunder signs Josh Huestis to 4-year deal
  3. 3
    Thunder TV analyst Nancy Lieberman expected to become Kings assistant coach
  4. 4
    Dodgers send Olivera to Braves in three-way trade
  5. 5
    MTV's 'Real World' sets casting call in Oklahoma City
+ show more


× Trending news Article