Share “States get more time to work on health...”

States get more time to work on health care plans

Associated Press Published: November 9, 2012

Sebelius stressed, however, that she is not waiving any hard deadlines under the law.

"Consumers in all fifty states and the District of Columbia will have access to insurance through these new marketplaces on January 1, 2014, as scheduled, with no delays," she wrote. Open enrollment for exchange plans will start in about 11 months, Oct. 1, 2013.

A check by The Associated Press found 17 states and the District of Columbia on track to setting up their own exchanges, while 10 have decided not to do so.

The states on track include California, Colorado, Connecticut, Hawaii, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Nevada, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, Washington, and West Virginia.

Not setting up exchanges are Alaska, Florida, Louisiana, Maine, New Hampshire, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Missouri and others are likely to join the list. The federal government could end up running the show in half or more of the states.