Share “Student funding effort launched by...”

Student funding effort launched by Oklahoma Hall of Fame members

CARRIE COPPERNOLL Modified: June 6, 2009 at 10:06 am •  Published: June 6, 2009
Members of the Oklahoma Hall of Fame kicked off a fundraising effort Friday afternoon to provide scholarships to state college students.

The first Oklahoma Hall of Fame Scholarship will be awarded next year, said Shannon Nance, president of the Oklahoma Heritage Association.

The scholarship will be worth $10,000, paid out in four annual $2,500 installments during the winner’s college career, Nance said. Scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors based on leadership, civic involvement and other factors. Applicants must live in and attend college in Oklahoma.

Members of the 2008 Hall of Fame class — Bill W. Burgess Jr., Robert H. Henry, Donna Nigh, Ronald J. Norick, Carl R. Renfro, Charles C. Stephenson and Jordan J.N. Tang — started the scholarship program. Their goal is to inspire Oklahoma pride in young people, Nance said.

Future Hall of Fame classes will work to raise money for and awareness of the scholarship, Nance said.

The Oklahoma Heritage Association will hold the scholarship money and administer the program.


  1. 1
    This map shows the biggest music festival in Oklahoma, other states
  2. 2
    Bristol Palin Slams Washington State Initiative to Give Free Birth Control to Minors
  3. 3
    Oregon pot stores sell more than $11 million in first 5 days
  4. 4
    Sigourney Weaver turns 66: Then and now
  5. 5
    Not Sucking in Their Seventies: Rock Lifers Go the Distance
+ show more


× Trending news Article