Students honor three Edmond teachers

Members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints honored Edmond high school teachers with the Crystal Apple Award.
By Beth Stephenson, For The Oklahoman Modified: May 5, 2014 at 3:37 pm •  Published: May 5, 2014

“The students are like my own kids. I just love them.”

Other nominees from Santa Fe were Beth Carlton, Stephanie Hanson, Joe Peeler, Gabe Robertson, Brandon Mayer, James Coplin, Christy Fine and Kristin Sackett.

North: A first-year physics teacher at Edmond North High School, Ernest S. Sanchez won the crystal apple.

Student Evan Helsloot said of him, “He’s always willing to drop what he’s doing to help his students. He never puts a student down, and he gives us good advice to help us in our lives. And he makes physics interesting.”

Sanchez said teaching is even more rewarding than he thought it would be. In a recent class, he made a pickle glow orange to demonstrate the effect of an electric current on sodium.

Other Edmond North nominees were Greg Bloyd, Karl King, Maddi Swinehart, Martin Glendinning, Morgan McClanahan, Lacy Goodger, Pete Tucker, Jena Nelson, Mary Green, Brian Tidwell, Peter Markes and Tommy Nash.

What it means

Edmond schools Superintendent David Goin congratulated the recipients.

“Teacher of the year awards are given to outstanding teachers nominated by other teachers. But it seems even a higher honor to be chosen by those you teach every day, those who are sitting in your classrooms,” Goin said.

This is the first time the Crystal Apple Award has been presented in this area, but planners expect it will become an annual event and hope to expand into other Oklahoma school districts.

Beth Stephenson is assistant director of public affairs for the central Oklahoma area of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.