Share “Test your football knowledge with Big 12...”

Berry Tramel

NewsOK | BLOGS

Test your football knowledge with Big 12 officiating test

by Berry Tramel Published: July 18, 2014
Advertisement
OSU coach Mike Gundy makes his case with a Big 12 official during the 2013 Bedlam game. (Photo by Bryan Terry)
OSU coach Mike Gundy makes his case with a Big 12 official during the 2013 Bedlam game. (Photo by Bryan Terry)

The Big 12 officiating clinic, conducted by CFO West, an organization that administers football officiating for a variety of conferences, always is interesting. I spent last Saturday in Irving, Texas, embedded with Big 12 officials and Big 12 officiating director Walt Anderson. Like always, I learned a lot of football.

An annual part of the clinic is the test given to all officials, which Anderson allows the media to take as well. I thought I would share it with out.

First, I’ll give you the test without the answers. Then I’ll supply the test with my answers. Finally, I’ll list the test with the correct answers and we’ll see how I did and you can see how you did. Here you go:

1. With 3:12 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 16 at the A14. Through normal close line play while being double team blocked, B99 has his helmet come off while rushing QB A7 who is in the pocket. Failing to find an open receiver, A7 tucks the ball and runs toward the sideline. B99 pursues him and tackles him at the sideline at the A13 yard line.

2. With 9:15 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 2nd and 7 at the A12. QB A9 hands off to Back A27 who runs up the middle and is tackled at the A26 yard line. Team A lined up with 5 players in the backfield.

3. With 7:17 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 3rd and 3 at the A40. Shotgun QB A7 attempts a pass to A6. The pass is intercepted by B98 who returns the ball for a touchdown. During the interception return, B96 blocks A65 in the back above the waist at the A35 yard line. After the score, the Team B bench runs down to the end zone to celebrate with B98 and the officials flag the bench for Unsportsmanlike Conduct.

4. With 5:00 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 3rd and 11 at the A22. QB A14 completes a long pass to A5 at the B43 yard line, who is then hit by B25 and knocked out of bounds at the B35. The FJ flags B25 for Targeting for making forcible contact to the head. The Replay Official reviews the play and determines that there was no forcible contact to the head or neck area.

5. With 0:06 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 3rd and 5 at the B44. Shotgun QB A6 completes a long pass toward the sideline to A11 who is immediately tackled by B5 at the B25 yard line. Prior to the pass, LB B32 blitzes up the middle and is legally blocked low by A34 in front of the QB. The block causes B32 to fall forward where he makes contact with QB A6 at the knee as a result of the block. QB A6 is injured as a result of the contact.

 

More from Tramel
Big 12 Officiating: Eight-man crews are here to stay
Targeting rule worked in Big 12 Conference last year
From little league to the Big 12, Jerod Phillips has come a long way in officiating

 

6. With 4:30 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 7 at the A41. QB A6 throws a pass to A8 who catches the ball and falls to the ground near the sideline at the B39 yard line. Prior to the pass, B2 legally blocks A8, which
forces A8 out of bounds. A8 jumps from out of bounds and is airborne coming back toward the field of play when he possesses the ball. He then first contacts the ground with his right knee inbounds and maintains control
of the ball as he falls to the B39 yard line.

7. With 5:34 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 4th and 8 at the B40. Prior to the punt by A37, Back A25 hooks and restricts RDE B33 to prevent him from getting to the kicker. As B29 is moving up to field the punt, A31 interferes with him at the B15 yard line while the punt is in flight. The untouched ball bounces backward and is recovered on the ground at the B25 by A50.

8. With 12:02 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 2nd and 6 at the B18. As shotgun QB A10 throws the ball toward A18 in the end zone, B8, who has his back to the QB and is not playing the ball, contacts A18 early just inside the pylon as he reaches back to catch the ball. The contact occurs at the goal line and the pass falls incomplete in the End Zone.

9. With 9:28 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 1st and 10 at the B45. Back A34 takes the handoff and runs up the middle and is tackled at the B29 by B20. A34 immediately gets up and makes an exaggerated “throat slash”
gesture.

10. With 0:46 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 1st and 10 at the A24. Shotgun QB A4 throws a pass downfield toward A10. The ball is batted away by B2 and is clearly well past both B2 and A10, who is looking up at the ball, when a second defender, B5, comes in late and hits A10 unnecessarily in the chest with his shoulder at the 50-yard line just before the pass hits the ground incomplete at the B40.

11. With 9:10 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 3rd and 4 at the A40. As QB A12 throws a completed pass to A84 at the A47 yard line, LT A71 attempts a roll block of RDE B31. A71 misses but as he is falling to the ground, he
swings his left leg and kicks B31 in the lower leg at the A36 yard line causing him to stumble and fall in front of the QB. The pass is complete and A84 is tackled at the A46 yard line.

12. With 8:50 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 3 at the A38. Back A3 catches a swing pass and angles toward the sideline and the orange ground marker. B21 shoves him at the A39 yard line and A3, with the ball in his right hand, crosses the sideline with the ball above the intersection of the 40-yard line and the sideline as he crosses and then lands out of bounds at the 40 ½ yard line.

13. With 1:45 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 2nd and Goal at the B8. QB A6 throws an incomplete pass to A4 near the pylon. Clearly after the pass is thrown, B91 takes an extra step, flexes his arms and then unnecessarily
shoves his hands into the neck area of A6 (Not Targeting).

14. With 14:46 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 2nd and 4 at the A33. Back A37 takes a pitchout from QB A5 at the A27 and runs around left end and is tackled at the sideline by B41 at the A35 yard line. During the run, A4 is
legally blocking B42 with his hands inside the frame of B42 in front of the runner. Just as B41 is tackling A37, A4 then with his hands twists and takes B42 to the ground at the A39 yard line.

15. With 15:00 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 3rd and 3 at the A44. QB A10 scrambles out of the pocket near the numbers and at the A31 yard line, with no receiver open and B88 in pursuit, throws the ball away. The ball
lands at the A38 yard line with no eligible receiver in the area.

16. With 8:43 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 8 at the A40. Shotgun QB A6 scrambles looking for a receiver. He finally spots A2 and when A6 is at the A42 he throws the ball toward A2 who dives and the ball just passes his outstretched hands at the B40 yard line.

17. With 14:11 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 2nd and 8 at the A49. QB A16 throws a screen pass to A9 who catches the ball at the A47, runs laterally and is tackled at the A48. While the pass was in the air, Center A58
is blocking LB B41 3 yards downfield at the B48. Immediately after the snap, Wide Receiver A7 comes back inside toward the original position of the ball at the snap and blocks B52 at the knees at the B49 yard line.

18. With 12:53 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 3rd and 10 at the B32. QB A7 completes a pass to A5 at the B24 yard line. A5 runs and is pushed out of bounds at the B19. While A7 was in the pocket and prior to the pass, Back A3 blocked blitzing cornerback B8 at the knees at the same time that RG A64 was blocking B8 high.

19. With 9:51 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 4th and 1 at the A40. A41 punts the ball downfield, and just before B25 catches the ball, A3 hits him hard at the B18 yard line, where B25 completes the catch. The BJ throws his flag and reports to the Referee that A3 made forcible contact early to the head. The Referee announces a combination foul of Kick Catch Interference with Targeting, and announces that A3 is disqualified. Following the automatic video review, the Replay Official tells the Referee that there was no forcible contact to the head or neck area by A3.

20. With 6:30 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 3rd and 10 at the B25. QB A17 scrambles and throws toward A3 near the goal line. Prior to the ball arriving, B26, not playing the ball, makes early contact with A3 at the B2 yard line preventing him from catching the pass. Immediately after the snap and while A17 was scrambling, Center A54 and LG A55 release downfield thinking this was a screen pass. They are both at the B20 when the pass is released.

21. With 3:18 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 1st and 10 at the B34. Back A21 takes the handoff and runs right where he is forced out of bounds at the B16 by B8, but not before B8 grabs and pulls his facemask as he pushes him out of bounds. Just after the play is whistled dead, A9 coming from the opposite side of the field hits B7 with an unnecessary blindside block at the chest clearly away from the play and after the play was over.

22. With 1:02 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 1st and 5 at the B13. Center A69 just before he snaps the ball, makes a quick, abrupt movement of his head that draws an immediate reaction from Nose Guard B99. QB A14
throws a quick pass to A5 who is tackled at the B6.

23. With 5:07 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 2nd and Goal at the B10. On the previous 1st down play, Team A makes no substitutions and hurries to the line of scrimmage after an incomplete pass. As they are lining up for the 2nd down play, Team B runs a player onto the field. There is some confusion by the defense but they are never set in formation even as the snap is imminent. The 12th Team B player, B19, is clearly attempting to rush off the field and is running toward the numbers on his sideline when the ball is snapped and he continues running off the field during play. QB A4 hands off to Back A33 who runs around left end for a Touchdown.

24. With 5:13 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 4th and 9 at the A26. In scrimmage kick formation just after the snap, Left Tackle A4 grabs B46 and pulls him to the ground preventing him from rushing the punter. Punter A46
then punts the ball to the B25 where B39 fields the punt, runs and is tackled at the B32 yard line.

25. With 7:01 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 1st and 10 at the A25. QB A18 hands off to Back A5 who runs to his left and is forced out of bounds at the A30 by B9. During the run, Back A86 grabs and restricts B55 at the 25-yard line, which is the block that allows A5 to turn the corner.

Bonus Question #1: With 4:33 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 2nd and 15 at the A44. Back A4, originally lined up next to shotgun QB A8, releases outside on a screen pass. RDE B42 moves up and grabs A4 by encircling him with both arms at the A43 yard line. He continues to pull and hold A4 at the A42 yard line preventing him from running his intended route, which causes A8 to legally dump the ball at the feet of A4 at the A42 yard line.

Bonus Question #2: With 1:14 remaining in the game, Team A attempts an onside kick from the A35 yard line. As the untouched kick is rolling on the ground, B11 moves up to the A43 to attempt to recover the rolling untouched kick. A85 blocks B11 at the A43 yard line as the untouched loose ball is at the A41. The loose ball is
subsequently recovered by B17 at the A45 where he falls immediately to the ground.

OK, now the test, with my answers following each question:

1. With 3:12 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 16 at the A14. Through normal close line play while being double team blocked, B99 has his helmet come off while rushing QB A7 who is in the pocket. Failing to find an open receiver, A7 tucks the ball and runs toward the sideline. B99 pursues him and tackles him at the sideline at the A13 yard line.

Tramel answer: 15-yard penalty against Team B for failing to stop after a helmet comes off. Automatic first down, at the A 29.

2. With 9:15 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 2nd and 7 at the A12. QB A9 hands off to Back A27 who runs up the middle and is tackled at the A26 yard line. Team A lined up with 5 players in the backfield.

Tramel answer: Five-yard penalty vs. Team A for illegal formation. 2nd-and-12 at the A7.

3. With 7:17 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 3rd and 3 at the A40. Shotgun QB A7 attempts a pass to A6. The pass is intercepted by B98 who returns the ball for a touchdown. During the interception return, B96 blocks A65 in the back above the waist at the A35 yard line. After the score, the Team B bench runs down to the end zone to celebrate with B98 and the officials flag the bench for Unsportsmanlike Conduct.

Tramel answer:Two penalties against Team B and no touchdown, but Team B retains possession. A 10-yard block-in-the-back penalty, followed by a 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty, back to the B 40.

4. With 5:00 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 3rd and 11 at the A22. QB A14 completes a long pass to A5 at the B43 yard line, who is then hit by B25 and knocked out of bounds at the B35. The FJ flags B25 for Targeting for making forcible contact to the head. The Replay Official reviews the play and determines that there was no forcible contact to the head or neck area.

Tramel answer: No penalty, no disqualification. First down at the B35.

5. With 0:06 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 3rd and 5 at the B44. Shotgun QB A6 completes a long pass toward the sideline to A11 who is immediately tackled by B5 at the B25 yard line. Prior to the pass, LB B32 blitzes up the middle and is legally blocked low by A34 in front of the QB. The block causes B32 to fall forward where he makes contact with QB A6 at the knee as a result of the block. QB A6 is injured as a result of the contact.

Tramel answer: No penalty for roughing the quarterback, since the defender was blocked into the QB.

6. With 4:30 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 7 at the A41. QB A6 throws a pass to A8 who catches the ball and falls to the ground near the sideline at the B39 yard line. Prior to the pass, B2 legally blocks A8, which
forces A8 out of bounds. A8 jumps from out of bounds and is airborne coming back toward the field of play when he possesses the ball. He then first contacts the ground with his right knee inbounds and maintains control
of the ball as he falls to the B39 yard line.

Tramel answer: The pass in complete, because the receiver didn’t establish himself back in the field of play
before touching the ball.

7. With 5:34 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 4th and 8 at the B40. Prior to the punt by A37, Back A25 hooks and restricts RDE B33 to prevent him from getting to the kicker. As B29 is moving up to field the punt, A31 interferes with him at the B15 yard line while the punt is in flight. The untouched ball bounces backward and is recovered on the ground at the B25 by A50.

Tramel answer: Two penalties, with Team B getting its choice of the holding or the interference. The holding would place the ball at the B35. The interference would place the ball at the B40.

8. With 12:02 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 2nd and 6 at the B18. As shotgun QB A10 throws the ball toward A18 in the end zone, B8, who has his back to the QB and is not playing the ball, contacts A18 early just inside the pylon as he reaches back to catch the ball. The contact occurs at the goal line and the pass falls incomplete in the End Zone.

Tramel answer: Pass interference. 15-yard penalty. First-and-goal at the B3.

9. With 9:28 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 1st and 10 at the B45. Back A34 takes the handoff and runs up the middle and is tackled at the B29 by B20. A34 immediately gets up and makes an exaggerated “throat slash”
gesture.

Tramel answer: 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. 1st and 10 at the B44.

10. With 0:46 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 1st and 10 at the A24. Shotgun QB A4 throws a pass downfield toward A10. The ball is batted away by B2 and is clearly well past both B2 and A10, who is looking up at the ball, when a second defender, B5, comes in late and hits A10 unnecessarily in the chest with his shoulder at the 50-yard line just before the pass hits the ground incomplete at the B40.

Tramel answer:15-yard personal foul, unnecessary roughness. First down at the A39.

11. With 9:10 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 3rd and 4 at the A40. As QB A12 throws a completed pass to A84 at the A47 yard line, LT A71 attempts a roll block of RDE B31. A71 misses but as he is falling to the ground, he
swings his left leg and kicks B31 in the lower leg at the A36 yard line causing him to stumble and fall in front of the QB. The pass is complete and A84 is tackled at the A46 yard line.

Tramel answer: 15-yard tripping penalty against A. 3-and-19 at the A25.

12. With 8:50 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 3 at the A38. Back A3 catches a swing pass and angles toward the sideline and the orange ground marker. B21 shoves him at the A39 yard line and A3, with the ball in his right hand, crosses the sideline with the ball above the intersection of the 40-yard line and the sideline as he crosses and then lands out of bounds at the 40 ½ yard line.

Tramel answer: The ball should be placed on the 40. Not the 40 1/2.

13. With 1:45 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 2nd and Goal at the B8. QB A6 throws an incomplete pass to A4 near the pylon. Clearly after the pass is thrown, B91 takes an extra step, flexes his arms and then unnecessarily
shoves his hands into the neck area of A6 (Not Targeting).

Tramel answer: Roughing the quarterback, half the distance to the goal penalty. Ball on the B4.

14. With 14:46 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 2nd and 4 at the A33. Back A37 takes a pitchout from QB A5 at the A27 and runs around left end and is tackled at the sideline by B41 at the A35 yard line. During the run, A4 is
legally blocking B42 with his hands inside the frame of B42 in front of the runner. Just as B41 is tackling A37, A4 then with his hands twists and takes B42 to the ground at the A39 yard line.

Tramel answer: 10-yard holding penalty from the spot of the foul, so 2nd-and-8 from the A29.

15. With 15:00 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 3rd and 3 at the A44. QB A10 scrambles out of the pocket near the numbers and at the A31 yard line, with no receiver open and B88 in pursuit, throws the ball away. The ball
lands at the A38 yard line with no eligible receiver in the area.

Tramel answer: Intentional grounding penalty, since the pass did not reach the line of scrimmage. Loss of down, with the ball placed at the A31, from which the pass was thrown.

16. With 8:43 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 3rd and 8 at the A40. Shotgun QB A6 scrambles looking for a receiver. He finally spots A2 and when A6 is at the A42 he throws the ball toward A2 who dives and the ball just passes his outstretched hands at the B40 yard line.

Tramel answer: Illegal forward pass, 5-yard penalty from the previous line of scrimmage and loss of down.

17. With 14:11 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 2nd and 8 at the A49. QB A16 throws a screen pass to A9 who catches the ball at the A47, runs laterally and is tackled at the A48. While the pass was in the air, Center A58
is blocking LB B41 3 yards downfield at the B48. Immediately after the snap, Wide Receiver A7 comes back inside toward the original position of the ball at the snap and blocks B52 at the knees at the B49 yard line.

Tramel answer: 15-yard penalty for a crackback block, from the spot of the foul. So 2nd-and-21 from the A36.

18. With 12:53 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 3rd and 10 at the B32. QB A7 completes a pass to A5 at the B24 yard line. A5 runs and is pushed out of bounds at the B19. While A7 was in the pocket and prior to the pass, Back A3 blocked blitzing cornerback B8 at the knees at the same time that RG A64 was blocking B8 high.

Tramel answer: 15-yard penalty for an illegal block, hitting a defender low while he was engaged high with another player. Enforcement is from the line of scrimmage.

19. With 9:51 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 4th and 1 at the A40. A41 punts the ball downfield, and just before B25 catches the ball, A3 hits him hard at the B18 yard line, where B25 completes the catch. The BJ throws his flag and reports to the Referee that A3 made forcible contact early to the head. The Referee announces a combination foul of Kick Catch interference with Targeting, and announces that A3 is disqualified. Following the automatic video review, the Replay Official tells the Referee that there was no forcible contact to the head or neck area by A3.

Tramel answer: 15-yard penalty for kick interference, from the spot of the foul, but no disqualification.

20. With 6:30 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 3rd and 10 at the B25. QB A17 scrambles and throws toward A3 near the goal line. Prior to the ball arriving, B26, not playing the ball, makes early contact with A3 at the B2 yard line preventing him from catching the pass. Immediately after the snap and while A17 was scrambling, Center A54 and LG A55 release downfield thinking this was a screen pass. They are both at the B20 when the pass is
released.

Tramel answer: Offsetting penalties, ineligible receiver downfield for A, pass interference for B.

21. With 3:18 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 1st and 10 at the B34. Back A21 takes the handoff and runs right where he is forced out of bounds at the B16 by B8, but not before B8 grabs and pulls his facemask as he pushes him out of bounds. Just after the play is whistled dead, A9 coming from the opposite side of the field hits B7 with an unnecessary blindside block at the chest clearly away from the play and after the play was over.

Tramel answer: Penalties enforced both ways. Personal foul facemask against B, half the distance to the goal from the 16 to the 8. Then unsportsmanlike conduct against A, 15 yards back to the 23.

22. With 1:02 remaining in the 1st quarter, A 1st and 5 at the B13. Center A69 just before he snaps the ball, makes a quick, abrupt movement of his head that draws an immediate reaction from Nose Guard B99. QB A14
throws a quick pass to A5 who is tackled at the B6.

Tramel answer: Five-yard penalty against A for illegal procedure.

23. With 5:07 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 2nd and Goal at the B10. On the previous 1st down play, Team A makes no substitutions and hurries to the line of scrimmage after an incomplete pass. As they are lining up for the 2nd down play, Team B runs a player onto the field. There is some confusion by the defense but they are never set in formation even as the snap is imminent. The 12th Team B player, B19, is clearly attempting to rush off the field and is running toward the numbers on his sideline when the ball is snapped and he continues running off the field during play. QB A4 hands off to Back A33 who runs around left end for a Touchdown.

Tramel answer: Touchdown. Five-yard penalty against the defense can be enforced on the point-after or the ensuing kickoff.

24. With 5:13 remaining in the 2nd quarter, A 4th and 9 at the A26. In scrimmage kick formation just after the snap, Left Tackle A4 grabs B46 and pulls him to the ground preventing him from rushing the punter. Punter A46
then punts the ball to the B25 where B39 fields the punt, runs and is tackled at the B32 yard line.

Tramel answer: 10-yard penalty for holding against Team A. Team B can choose to have a re-kick from the A16, or possession at the B42.

25. With 7:01 remaining in the 4th quarter, A 1st and 10 at the A25. QB A18 hands off to Back A5 who runs to his left and is forced out of bounds at the A30 by B9. During the run, Back A86 grabs and restricts B55 at the 25-yard line, which is the block that allows A5 to turn the corner.

Tramel answer: 10-yard holding penalty against Team A, back to the A15.

Bonus Question #1: With 4:33 remaining in the 3rd quarter, A 2nd and 15 at the A44. Back A4, originally lined up next to shotgun QB A8, releases outside on a screen pass. RDE B42 moves up and grabs A4 by encircling him with both arms at the A43 yard line. He continues to pull and hold A4 at the A42 yard line preventing him from running his intended route, which causes A8 to legally dump the ball at the feet of A4 at the A42 yard line.

Tramel answer: Incomplete pass. No interference behind the line of scrimmage.

Bonus Question #2: With 1:14 remaining in the game, Team A attempts an onside kick from the A35 yard line. As the untouched kick is rolling on the ground, B11 moves up to the A43 to attempt to recover the rolling untouched kick. A85 blocks B11 at the A43 yard line as the untouched loose ball is at the A41. The loose ball is
subsequently recovered by B17 at the A45 where he falls immediately to the ground.

Tramel answer: Kick interference, 15-yard penalty against Team A, to the A 35.

OK, so let’s see how I did. Here are the answers:

1. 1st-and-10 at A29. Personal foul, helmet infraction. 15-yards vs. Team B. (correct)
2. 2nd-and-12 at 7. Illegal formation, 5 yards vs. Team B. (correct)
3. B 1st-and-10 at B40. 10-yard penalty for illegal block in the back. (correct)
4. 1st-and-10 at B35. No penalty, no disqualification. (correct)
5. 1st-and-10 at B25. No penalty. (correct)
6. 4th-and-7 at A41. The new rule says a player must establish himself back in the field of play before he can legally touch the ball. (correct)
7. B 1st-and-10 at B 35 or A 4th-and-18 at 50. Team B’s choice. (incorrect; I had this as a 15-yard interference penalty from the spot of the foul. It’s actually a 10-yard penalty from either the spot of the foul or where the ball wound up, whichever is more advantageous to the receiving team.
8. 1st-and-goal at the B3. Pass interference. (correct)
9. 1st-and-10 from the B44. 15-yard unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. (correct)
10. 1st-and-10 from the A39. Unnecessary roughness, 15 yards. (correct)
11. 3rd-and-19 at the A25. 15-yard tripping penalty (correct).
12. 4th-and-1 at A40. The ball is marked not from where a ballcarrier lands out of bounds, but from where he crossed over the sideline. (correct)
13. 1st-and-goal at the B4. Roughing the passer, half the distance to the goal. (correct)
14. 3rd-and-2 at the A35. No foul for offensive holding; considered incidental to the play. (incorrect; I didn’t know how closely they would monitor holding that occurred near the play, but as it was ending)
15. 4th-and-16 from the A31. Intentional grounding penalty. (correct)
16. 4th-and-11 from the A37. Illegal forward pass, marked from the spot of the illegal pass, with a loss of down. (incorrect; I marked the foul from the line of scrimmage)
17. 2nd-and-23 at the A34, or 3rd-and-9 at the A48, if the blocking-below-the-waist penalty is declined. (correct)
18. 3rd-and-25 at the B47. 15-yard chop block. (correct)
19. 1st-and-10 at B33. 15-yard kick interference penalty. (correct)
20. 3rd-and-10 at the B25. Offsetting penalties. (correct)
21. 1st-and-10 at the B23. Half-the-distance to the goal facemask penalty against Team B, unnecessary roughness penalty against Team A. (correct)
22. 1st-and-10 at B18. False-start penalty, five yards, against Team A. (correct; I called it illegal procedure)
23. Touchdown. No penalty on ensuing plays. (incorrect; I gave Team A the option of using the penalty on the point after or kickoff)
24. Team B 1st-and-10 at B42-yard line or Team A 4th-and-19 at A16-yard line. The 10-yard holding penalty can be used to make Team A rekick or to give Team B 10 yards more as it starts the possession. (correct)
25. 1st-and-20 at A15 or 2nd-and-5 at A30. 10-yard offensive holding, which could be declined. (correct)
Bonus 1. 2nd-and-5 at B46. 10-yard defensive holding. (incorrect; I said no pass interference penalty behind the line of scrimmage, but the foul occurred before the pass was thrown)
Bonus 2. Team B 1st-and-10 at A40. Illegal block on a kick returner. Five yards from where the ball was recovered. (incorrect; I said 10 yards).

So I got 21 of 25 correct and didn’t nail either bonus question. That’s 84 percent, which means I have no future as a Big 12 official but probably know more than 95 percent of the fans watching the game.

by Berry Tramel
Columnist
Berry Tramel, a lifelong Oklahoman, sports fan and newspaper reader, joined The Oklahoman in 1991 and has served as beat writer, assistant sports editor, sports editor and columnist. Tramel grew up reading four daily newspapers — The Oklahoman,...
+ show more


Trending Now


AROUND THE WEB

  1. 1
    Happy day: Elton John, David Furnish marry in England
  2. 2
    Twelve Weeks To A Six-Figure Job
  3. 3
    New York Pain Clinic Doctor Is Sentenced in Overdose Deaths of 2 Patients
  4. 4
    Time Lapse: Amsterdam Light Festival
  5. 5
    Baby Jesus gets GPS
+ show more