The Marion Hotel, 110 NW 10, is back in the news.
At 108 years old, she started life in 1904, three years before statehood.
A short biography of early day architect Edward Coady, printed Nov. 11, 1904, in The Oklahoman, mentioned his latest building:
“His latest work in Oklahoma City is the handsome Marion flats recently constructed for J.C. Hughes, cashier of the Commercial National bank in this city. There is an originality about Mr. Coady's designs that creates a demand for his services.”
In 1909, N.N. Gatlin leased the Marion flats for three years, and on May 23, The Oklahoman announced his plans for the building:
“For several weeks workmen have been busy overhauling and refurnishing the forty odd rooms for hotel purposes, and ‘The Marion' will open today as a first class European Hotel, catering to the best and highest-class trade. The basement has been enlarged and remodeled and a cafe in keeping with the other appointments will be put in. The woodwork throughout the house has been painted a dark mahogany, and the wall papers and ceiling decorations are a reflection of the good taste and discrimination of Mr. and Mrs. Gatlin.
“The house has been beautifully furnished throughout, new Brussels and Axminsters on the floors; the furniture in each room being different, some of it of weathered oak, some bird's-eye maple and still other rooms are furnished in mahogany. All the beds are of brass and the linen is of the finest and the best. So, if we can judge anything from the good taste evidenced to the furnishings and fittings of this beautiful home; and if the experience and personality of Mr. and Mrs. Gatlin count for anything, we are free to make the prediction that ‘The Marion' will soon earn the right to be called Oklahoma City's most popular as well as most elegant European hotel.”