Share “The Oklahoman and win first...”

The Oklahoman and win first overall from Associated Press

The Oklahoman won first place in general excellence and won best website in the 2010 Associated Press/Oklahoma News Executives competition.
FROM STAFF REPORTS Modified: April 3, 2011 at 6:47 pm •  Published: April 3, 2011

Megan Rolland — Best New Journalist: Rolland is an education reporter. Her work in 2010 included school closings, teacher cuts, a student overcoming the odds and more.

Ron Jackson, Robert Medley and Randy Ellis — General News: Jackson, Medley and Ellis won for a series of stories about the discovery of the body of Aja Johnson, 7, killed by her stepfather Lester Hobbs and subsequent reports detailing her death.

Todd Pendleton — Graphics and Illustrations: Pendleton won for a graphic detailing the Oklahoma state Capitol floor by floor and for an illustration of potential Oscar winners.

John Clanton — Spot News Photo, Sports: Clanton won for photos of tornado damage, a coach and a quarterback.

Sarah Phipps — General News Photo, Feature: Phipps won for photos from the Fourth of July and prison church.

Chris Landsberger — Website Photo, Photo Package: Landsberger won for a photo on pregame rituals and for photos of Catherine Titus and her dogs.

Robert Medley and Michael Baker— Spot News: Medley and Baker won for their reporting on a house fire that killed four children and two women in Weleetka.

Carrie Coppernoll — Personal Columns: Coppernoll won for her columns on Oklahoma's first bacon festival and the first year of parenthood.

Sonya Colberg — Business Spot News Reporting: Colberg won for her work about an insurance company denying claims for a teen's cancer treatment.

Matt Clayton — Non-Page One Layout: Clayton won for his layouts “It's better to receive,” “Outside the box” and “Masterpiece.”

Christy Watson — Editorials: Watson won for several editorials about State Question 744 and education funding.

Tom Maupin — Headlines: Maupin won for the following headlines: “The skies of Texas are upon us;” “Writer decides its time to get a narrower view of life,” about a reporter's project to lose weight; and “Does work get in way of your e-fun times?”

Berry Tramel — Sports Columns: Tramel won for columns about saluting the Greatest Generation of Oklahoma Sooners, University of Oklahoma's football coach Bob Stoops sticking to his guns, and football fans ending the national anthem with “Sooners” instead of “the brave.” has disabled the comments for this article.


Other winners

Investigative Reporting: Bryan Dean, John Estus and Paul Monies, third

Public Service Reporting: Vallery Brown, second

Business Spot News Reporting: Sonya Colberg, second

Spot News: Michael Kimball and Robert Medley, third

Spot Sports Reporting: Berry Tramel, second; Jenni Carlson, third

Feature: Sonya Colberg, second; Carla Hinton, third

Sports Feature: Darnell Mayberry, second; Bryan Painter, third

Sports Columns: John Rohde, third

Personal Columns: Don Mecoy, second; Richard Mize, third

Reviews: George Lang, second; Dave Cathey, third

Non-Page One Layout: William Bootz, second

Page One Deadline Layout: Caroline Duke, second; Felicia Murray, third

Headlines: Amy Raymond, second; Don Brown, third

Spot News Photo: Steve Gooch, third

Sports Photo: Nate Billings, third

General News Photo: John Clanton, second

Feature Photo: Chris Landsberger, second; Nate Billings, third

Photo Package: Sarah Phipps, second

Website Photo: Bryan Terry, second


  1. 1
    Victim arrested after armed robbery at east Tulsa hotel
  2. 2
    Brandon Weeden out, Matt Cassel in as Dallas Cowboys starting quarterback
  3. 3
    Former OU recruit confesses to attacking, killing Dallas jogger, police say
  4. 4
    Report: U.S most obese in the world, fattest kids by a mile, tops for poor teen health
  5. 5
    World’s biggest beer makers agree to join forces
+ show more


× Trending news Article