Share “The Oklahoman receives 44 awards”

The Oklahoman receives 44 awards

From Staff Reports Published: March 2, 2008
The Society of Professional Journalists Oklahoma Pro chapter recognized The Oklahoman's reporters, editors and photographers with 44 awards Saturday during an awards banquet at the Skirvin Hilton Hotel in Oklahoma City.

The group gave awards for work in newspapers, television, radio, magazines, Web sites and public relations. The awards covered work published between July 2006 and June 2007. Judges from out-of-state SPJ chapters chose the winners from more than 1,200 entries.

Edward F. Montgomery, a former reporter for The Oklahoman, won SPJ's Lifetime Achievement Award.

A University of Missouri graduate, Montgomery's first job was at the Shelby County Herald.

After serving as a bombardier and navigator during World War II, he returned to Oklahoma to work for various newspapers. Montgomery worked at The Oklahoman from 1950 to 1981, covering the state Capitol.

Montgomery also worked for the Norman Transcript and the Oklahoma Press Association. He is a member of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame.

The Oklahoman competed in a division with newspapers whose circulation is 18,000 or more.

The following are the award winners for The Oklahoman:

•Investigative Reporting/Team: Nolan Clay, Randy Ellis, Augie Frost and Chad Previch won first place. Third place went to Tony Thornton, Nolan Clay, Chris Casteel and Randy Ellis.

•In-Depth Enterprise Reporting/Individual: second place went to Randy Ellis.

•In-Depth Enterprise Reporting/Team: Bryan Dean and Ryan McNeill won second place.

•Political/Government Reporting: Randy Ellis and John Estus won first place. Third place went to Bryan Dean and Jay Marks.

•Spot News Reporting: Second place went to Bryan Dean and Berry Tramel. Ken Raymond took third place.

Continue reading this story on the...