Share “The Oklahoman receives 44 awards”

The Oklahoman receives 44 awards

From Staff Reports Published: March 2, 2008

/> •Personal Column: Richard Mize won first place.

•General News Reporting: First place went to Nolan Clay.

•Special Projects: The Oklahoman staff won third place.

•Criminal Justice Reporting: Second place went to Nolan Clay. Bryan Dean and Ken Raymond won third place.

•Minority Issues: Judy Gibbs Robinson won first place.

•Business Reporting: Paul Monies won first place and third place.

•Business Feature: Steve Lackmeyer won first place. Honorable mention went to Ja'Rena Lunsford.

•Entertainment Feature: George Lang won first place.

•Arts Criticism: George Lang won honorable mention.

•Sports Reporting: Jenni Carlson won first place. Third place went to John Helsley and George Schroeder.

•Sports Feature: First place went to Berry Tramel. Jenni Carlson won third place.

•Sports Column: Bryan Painter won first place. Jenni Carlson took second place and honorable mention.

•Best Page 1 Layout and Design: First place went to Steve Byerly. Joan Cuccio and Moran Elwell won second place. Third went to Felicia Murray.

•Feature Page Layout and Design: Matt Clayton won third place.

•News Headlines: Joan Cuccio won honorable mention.

•Feature Headlines: Second place went to Moran Elwell. Terry Groover won third place.

•Feature Photography: Chris Landsberger won first place. Second went to Jim Beckel.

•Sports Photography: Jim Beckel won second place. Matt Strasen took third. Honorable mention went to Nate Billings.

•Spot News Photography: Jim Beckel won second place. Third place went to Steve Gooch.

•Best Reporting Portfolio: Randy Ellis won honorable mention.

•In videography, John Clanton took second place in the feature/general news category.

• won second place in the best Web site category.