Share “The Oklahoman takes 45 awards in contest”

The Oklahoman takes 45 awards in contest

From Staff Reports Modified: March 30, 2008 at 2:37 am •  Published: March 30, 2008
e first stories were published Dec. 11.

Bryan Painter received top honors in the sports columns category for three columns published in June, July and September. Painter was also a repeat award recipient, winning the personal columns category with three columns published in January, April and December.

Felicia Murray won first place in the page one deadline layout category, a design competition, for her work in April, June and December.

Todd Pendleton's graphics and illustrations earned him first place in that category. Pendleton's winning designs appeared in The Oklahoman in February, September and November.

Berry Tramel won first place in the sports feature category for his Feb. 28 story, "Everlasting Friends.”

The Oklahoman's photographers took home four first-place awards.

McDaniel's sweepstakes-winning photo, "Covered,” won the feature category.

Matt Strasen garnered first place in the sports category for his March 2 photo, "The Dive.”

The spot news category's top honor went to Jim Beckel for an April 30 photo titled "Get Down.”

James Plumlee won the Web site photo category for his Aug. 19 photo, "Saved Pets.”

Other winners
Investigative reporting: third, Nolan Clay, Randy Ellis and Ryan McNeill; honorable mention, Tony Thornton

Business spot news: second, Steve Lackmeyer, Richard Mize, Adam Wilmoth, Don Mecoy, Ja'Rena Lunsford and Zachary Warmbrodt; third, Jack Money

Business feature: third, Mize

Spot news: second, Brian Sargent, Augie Frost and Josh Rabe; honorable mention, Ken Raymond

General news: second, Randy Ellis

Sports feature: second, Jenni Carlson

Non-page one layout: second, Renee Lawrence; third, Todd Pendleton

Page one deadline layout: second, Moran Elwell; honorable mention, Joan Cuccio

Headlines: second, Terry Groover; third, Robert Griffin; honorable mention, Barbara Schwartz Brus

Best new journalist of the year: honorable mention, John Estus and Wendy K. Kleinman

Feature: third, Ron Jackson

Web site: second,

Sports photo: third, Sarah Phipps

Spot news photo: second, Steve Gooch; third, Bryan Terry

Photo package: second, Nate Billings

General news photo: third, Paul Hellstern; honorable mention, Jim Beckel

Feature photo: second, Jim Beckel; third, Bryan Terry

Web site photo: second, Jim Beckel; third, Bryan Terry


  1. 1
    2 ways to achieve a lifetime of happiness
  2. 2
    TV: Here's how a former Dallas Cowboys signee influenced ABC's BattleBots title bout
  3. 3
    Big Soda Sues San Francisco over beverage warnings
  4. 4
    Immigration 'surge' continues, 30,000 expected, U.N. demands 'empathy' over 'enforcement'
  5. 5
    Keith Richards Trades Stadiums for Studios in New 'Trouble' Video
+ show more