The Oklahoman wins 53 awards in contest

FROM STAFF REPORTS Published: February 21, 2010

/> Felicia Murray took first place for page one design and layout during the spring wildfires in Midwest City, and Philip Baeza took first in feature page layout and design for "Rubio’s Cube.”

The entire list of those winning awards from The Oklahoman and is as follows:

Newspaper, Division A (circulation over 25,000)

Investigative reporting/individual: Ron Jackson, first.

Investigative reporting/team: Oklahoman staff, first; Nolan Clay, Randy Ellis, second.

In-depth enterprise reporting/individual: Ken Raymond, first.

In-depth enterprise reporting/team: Oklahoman staff, first; Ron Jackson, Robert Medley, Johnny Johnson, Monica Albert, second; Oklahoman staff, third.

Political/governmental reporting: Michael Kimball, first; Oklahoman staff, second.

Spot news reporting: Oklahoman staff, first.

Personal column: Carla Hinton, first; Christy Watson, second.

Editorial/commentary: Christy Watson, second.

General news reporting: Ann Kelley, first; Nolan Clay, honorable mention.

Criminal justice reporting: Nolan Clay and Ken Raymond, first; Ken Raymond, third; Vallery Brown, honorable mention.

Diversity reporting: Michael Kimball, first.

Education reporting: John Greiner, first; Heather Warlick-Moore, second.

Health reporting: Heather Warlick-Moore, first.

Business reporting: Steve Lackmeyer, honorable mention.

Entertainment feature: Gene Triplett, third.

Leisure writing: Heather Warlick-Moore, second; Dave Cathey, third.

Sports reporting: Berry Tramel and John Helsley, second.

Sports feature: Jenni Carlson, honorable mention;

Sports column: Berry Tramel, first; John Rohde, third.

Feature photography: Steve Sisney, first.

Sports photography: Chris Landsberger, second.

General photography: John Clanton, first.

Spot news photography: Steve Gooch, first; Jim Beckel, second.

Page one layout and design: Felicia Murray, first; Phillip Baeza, honorable mention;

Feature page layout and design: Phillip Baeza, first; Chris Schoelen and Todd Pendleton, second; Renee Lawrence, honorable mention.

Headlines: Tom Maupin, third; Beth Gollob, honorable mention.

Use of graphic illustration: Phillip Baeza, third.

Best reporting portfolio: Ken Raymond, first.

Best newspaper: The Oklahoman, third.


Multimedia projects: and Ken Raymond, first;, honorable mention.

Blog: Berry Tramel,, first; Dave Cathey,, second; Mike Boettcher and Carlos Boettcher,, third.

Breaking news coverage:, first and second.

Best Web site:, first.