The Oklahoman’s staff garners 46 awards in statewide competition

Oklahoman Modified: March 30, 2009 at 5:11 pm •  Published: March 29, 2009

/> Erica Smith won first place for headlines. Smith also won third place in the best new journalist category, which was won by Nick Tankersley.

Suzanne Green won first place for her graphics and illustrations.

The Oklahoman’s photographers took two first-place awards — Jim Beckel in the feature category for a picture of a boy crying on Santa’s lap, and Sarah Phipps in the Web site photo category. Phipps also won second in the Web site photo category.

Other winners
→Investigative reporting: second, Randy Ellis and Michael McNutt; third, Ken Raymond.

→Business feature: honorable mention, Paul Monies.

→Spot news: third, Bryan Painter, Augie Frost and Ken Raymond.

→General news: second, Nolan Clay, Augie Frost and Ken Raymond; third, Randy Ellis.

→Spot sports reporting: second, The Oklahoman staff.

→Features: honorable mention, Devona Walker.

→Sports feature: second, Jenni Carlson.

→Sports columns: second, Berry Tramel.

→Personal columns: second, Bryan Painter.

→Editorials: third, J.E. McReynolds.

→Reviews: third, Matt Price.

→Non-page one layout: third, Renee Lawrence.

→Page one deadline layout: third, Felicia Murray; honorable mention, Matt Clayton.

→Headlines: second, Steve Byerly; third, Felicia Murray.

→General Excellence: second, The Oklahoman.

→Web site: second, The Oklahoman (

→Spot news photo: third, Steve Gooch.

→Sports photo: second, Sarah Phipps.

→General news photo: second, Chris Landsberger; third, Jaconna Aguirre; honorable mention, Nate Billings.

→Feature photo: third, Jaconna Aguirre.

→Photo package: second, Chris Landsberger.