Share “Thundercats Season One, Book Two (2011)...”

Thundercats Season One, Book Two (2011) DVD review

“Thundercats” tells the story of Lion-O, the prince of Thundera who must journey through Third Earth to find the Book of Omens and become Lord of the Thundercats.
by Matthew Price Published: June 8, 2012

Meanwhile, a love triangle develops among Lion-O, the female cleric Cheetara, and Lion-O's older, adopted brother Tygra.

Lion-O and Tygra's rivalry over the crown and Cheetara's affections are a continuing subplot through these eight episodes.

The update takes the characters of the original series and melds them into a fantasy-style hero's journey.

Producer Ethan Spaulding worked on “Avatar: The Last Airbender,” and you can see influences from that program on this one.

By episode 14, “New Alliances,” the Thundercats have gone on the offensive against Mumm-Ra's army.

Lion-O wants to turn the lizards against their master, but Mumm-Ra retaliates by bringing in two even more vicious generals, Addicus and Kaynar, updates of Monkian and Jackalman from the original series.

Book Two ends with the two-part “Trials of Lion-O,” another concept borrowed from the original series, but with a new twist, as Lion-O must prove his skills and heart to regain a chance at life.

— Matthew Price

by Matthew Price
Features Editor
Features Editor Matthew Price has worked for The Oklahoman since 2000. He’s a University of Oklahoma graduate who has also worked at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and was a Dow Jones Newspaper Fund intern for the Dallas Morning News. He’s...
+ show more


  1. 1
    Oklahoma Girl Scouts camp on White House lawn, meet the Obamas
  2. 2
    Christie Opposes Exemptions for Clerks on Gay Marriage
  3. 3
    Episcopalians vote to allow gay marriage in churches
  4. 4
    What If You Could Drive From Paris to New York?
  5. 5
    Former CNN journalist kills man in shootout at NW Albuquerque motel
+ show more