Share “Top 25 Capsules”

Associated Press Modified: March 11, 2012 at 5:01 pm •  Published: March 11, 2012

NEW ORLEANS (AP) — Jeffery Taylor scored 18 points and Vanderbilt rallied to beat No. 1 Kentucky 71-64 in the Southeastern Conference tournament championship game Sunday, ending the Wildcats' 24-game winning streak.

John Jenkins and Festus Ezeli both had 17 points for Vanderbilt (24-10), which last won the SEC tournament in 1951.

Kentucky (32-2) didn't score a field goal over the final 8:04 and shot just 35.9 percent from the field (23 of 64).

Darius Miller scored 16 points for Kentucky while Terrence Jones and Anthony Davis both added 12.

After a dunk by Miller with 8:04 left, the Wildcats missed 14 consecutive shots from the field to lose for the first time since Dec. 10.

It also spoiled the Wildcats' perfect season against SEC competition. Kentucky is 18-1 against SEC opponents.

Vanderbilt has won four of five games heading into the NCAA tournament.


ATLANTA (AP) — Tournament MVP Michael Snaer scored 18 points and Florida State used a barrage of 3-pointers to win the ACC tournament championship for the first time since joining the conference in 1991.

Florida State (24-9) beat the Tar Heels by 33 points during the regular season.

North Carolina (29-5) nearly came all the way back from a 16-point deficit in the first half. P.J. Hairston missed a tying 3 at the buzzer.

It was the first time since Maryland's title in 2004 that a team outside the state of North Carolina won the tournament.

Florida State hit 11 of 22 from 3-point range, while North Carolina went 5 of 20 from beyond the arc, including Kendall Marshall's potential game-winning shot with 5 seconds to go.

Harrison Barnes led North Carolina with 23 points, while Tyler Zeller had 19 points and 12 rebounds.

NO. 8 MICHIGAN ST. 68, NO. 7 OHIO ST. 64

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Brandon Wood scored a season-high 21 points to lead Michigan State in the Big Ten tournament championship game.

Draymond Green, who had 12 points and nine rebounds in the final, was named the most outstanding player of the tournament. The Spartans (27-7) claimed their first tournament title since 2000 in a dramatic game that featured 16 lead changes.

Jared Sullinger scored 18 points and Deshaun Thomas and William Buford added 11 each for the Buckeyes (27-7), who were denied a third straight title.

The teams shared the regular-season title with Michigan.

Sullinger averaged 24 points and nine rebounds for the tournament.

As good as Sullinger was throughout the tournament, his final minute was one to forget. He missed in close twice against Green, then missed the front end of a 1-and-1 with 25 seconds remaining.

Austin Thornton's free throw with 12.7 seconds left put the Spartans up 68-64.