BY Berry Tramel Published: December 13, 2008
The 10 most-decorated schools in Heisman voting:

1. Southern Cal

Seven winners: Mike Garrett, O.J. Simpson, Charles White, Marcus Allen, Carson Palmer, Matt Leinart and Reggie Bush. Plus runner-ups Rodney Peete, Ricky Bell, Anthony Davis and Simpson.

2. Notre Dame

Seven winners: Angelo Bertelli, Johnny Lujack, Leon Hart, Johnny Lattner, Paul Hornung, John Huarte and Tim Brown. Plus runner-ups Rocket Ismail, Joe Theismann and Bertelli.

3. Ohio State

Seven winners: Les Horvath, Vic Janowicz, Howard Cassady, Archie Griffin twice, Eddie George and Troy Smith. Plus runner-ups Keith Byars, John Hicks and Bob Ferguson.

4. Oklahoma

Five winners: Billy Vessels, Steve Owens, Billy Sims, Jason White and Sam Bradford. Plus runner-ups Kurt Burris, Greg Pruitt, Billy Sims, Josh Heupel and Adrian Peterson.

5. Michigan

Three winners: Tom Harmon, Desmond Howard and Charles Woodson. Plus runner-ups Bob Chappuis and Harmon.

6. Army

Three winners: Doc Blanchard, Glenn Davis and Pete Dawkins. Plus runner-ups Davis and Monk Meyer.

7. Nebraska

Three winners: Johnny Rodgers, Mike Rozier and Eric Crouch. Plus runner-ups Tommie Frazier and Sam Francis.

8. Florida

Three winners: Steve Spurrier, Danny Wuerrfel and Tim Tebow. Plus runner-up Rex Grossman.

9. Georgia

Two winners: Frank Sinkwich and Herschel Walker. Plus runner-ups Walker and Charlie Trippi.

10. Texas

Two winners: Earl Campbell and Ricky Williams. Plus runner-ups Vince Young and Colt McCoy.

Related Documents

Trending Now


  1. 1
    VIDEO: FSU's Jameis Winston sent to locker room by Jimbo Fisher after dressing out for Clemson game
  2. 2
    Big 12 football: K-State's Snyder among nation's most underrated coaches in ESPN poll
  3. 3
    Texas A&M fan wearing what appears to be a chain mail jersey
  4. 4
    Satanic black mass seeks to free people from influence of God, organizer says
  5. 5
    Owasso beats Jenks for first time since 1993; Union rolls past BA
+ show more