Share “Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship”

Tringale disqualified from PGA Championship

Published on NewsOK Modified: August 16, 2014 at 5:17 pm •  Published: August 16, 2014
Advertisement

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (AP) — Cameron Tringale has been disqualified from last week's PGA Championship after telling the rules committee that he might have whiffed on a tap-in putt in the final round and thus signed for an incorrect score.

Tringale tied for 33rd at Valhalla Golf Club.

Tringale signed for a 4 on the par-3 11th hole. He says his putter swung over the ball prior to tapping in from 3 inches for a bogey. Tringale says he called the PGA of America because of the slightest doubt whether his swing over the ball should have counted as a stroke.

Even though the competition is over, Tringale was disqualified under Rule 34-1-iii.

Tringale forfeits the $53,000 in earnings. He also loses 37 FedEx Cup points, which could be more costly.


AROUND THE WEB

  1. 1
    Fox News announces prime-time GOP debate participants
  2. 2
    Did Sen. James Lankford fall into the 'man trap' on abortion?
  3. 3
    Oklahoma State places three walk-ons on scholarship
  4. 4
    VIDEO: Blake Griffin teasing Space Jam 2 in new Jordan commercial?
  5. 5
    Kermit and Miss Piggy break up after 40 years of Muppet love
+ show more

FEATURED JOBS



× Trending sports Article