Share “UCO to host 2010 Sitting Volleyball World...”

UCO to host 2010 Sitting Volleyball World Championships

The University of Central Oklahoma will host the 2010 Sitting Volleyball World Championships, July 10-18, with 36 men and women's national teams from 26 countries competing.
BY RYAN WILSON Published: July 1, 2010

University of Central Oklahoma will host the 2010 Sitting Volleyball World Championships on July 10-18, with 36 teams representing 26 countries expected to compete.

This is the first time this event has been held in the United States.

The championships will bring in a total of 576 athletes, coaches and delegates to UCO's Hamilton Field House and Wellness Center, and will serve as a Paralympic Games qualifier for the top three teams in the men and women's competitions.

Opening ceremonies will be from 7 to 9 p.m. July 10 in Hamilton Field House, and competition will begin at 9 a.m. each day beginning July 11. On July 18, a closing celebration will be at Frontier City, scheduled to begin about one hour after the medal ceremonies.

Competing teams will represent Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, China, Croatia, Egypt, Germany, Great Britain, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea, Libya, Lithuania, Morocco, Netherlands, Russia, Rwanda, Serbia, Ukraine and the United States.

Continue reading this story on the...


  1. 1
    Demoted high-ranking Tulsa Sheriff's Office official has resigned, fourth to leave since Eric...
  2. 2
    Owasso man arrested after police find marijuana growing operation in his home
  3. 3
    Best sex education video ever, made by a Brit
  4. 4
    Two arrested in fatal shooting of woman found dead in Camaro at Tulsa intersection
  5. 5
    Your guide to fall festivals in Oklahoma
+ show more


× Trending news Article