Share “Video: Toby Keith to release new album...”

BAM's Blog  


Video: Toby Keith to release new album "Drinks After Work" Oct. 29

by Brandy McDonnell Published: September 5, 2013

His current chart-running single “Drinks After Work” may be wetting the whistle of music fans, but Oklahoma country music star Toby Keith is springing for a dozen more rounds with the Oct. 29 release of his latest album, also named “Drinks After Work.”

Toby Keith performs Aug. 31 during the Great Allentown Fair in Allentown, Pa. (AP)
Toby Keith performs Aug. 31 during the Great Allentown Fair in Allentown, Pa. (AP)

Available in 10-track standard and 13-track deluxe editions, “Drinks After Work” will again find the Norman resident serving as sole producer and principal songwriter with credit on nine of 10 tracks. Longtime collaborators Scotty Emerick, Bobby Pinson and Rivers Rutherford return as co-writers on multiple songs, according to a news release.

Beyond the title track and nine other cuts (listed after the break), the deluxe addition also includes “Call A Marine,” “Margaritaville” (featuring Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Sammy Hagar) and “Chuckie’s Gone.” The latter is a tribute to Toby’s bandleader Chuck Goff, who died unexpectedly earlier this year. The Noble resident is also remembered in the liner notes:

“This album is dedicated in memory of Chuck Goff, our longtime bandleader-bass player. He will live on forever in our thoughts and in our performances. We miss ya, Shmudlo.”

Keith, who was born in Clinton and raised in Moore, is one of the most consistent recording artists and touring draws of his era and continually ranking as one of the genre’s top grossing live performers. Forbes ranked him as the top-earning country artist of 2012.

An iTunes pre-sale of “Drinks After Work” will begin Oct. 1.

See the complete track listing after the break:

“Drinks After Work” track listing

1. Shut Up And Hold On

2. Drinks After Work

3. Before We Knew They Were Good

4. Little Miss Tear Stain

5. The Other Side Of Him

6. Last Living Cowboy

7. Show Me What You’re Workin’ With

8. Whole Lot More Than That

9. I’ll Probably Be Out Fishin’

10. Hard Way To Make An Easy Living

Bonus Tracks (Deluxe Edition)

11. Call A Marine

12. Chuckie’s Gone

13. Margaritaville (with Sammy Hagar)


by Brandy McDonnell
Entertainment Reporter
Brandy McDonnell, also known by her initials BAM, writes stories and reviews on movies, music, the arts and other aspects of entertainment. She is NewsOK’s top blogger: Her 4-year-old entertainment news blog, BAM’s Blog, has notched more than 1...
+ show more


  1. 1
    'Cousin Eddie' actor detained in Montreal
  2. 2
    Former Thunder guard Eric Maynor tears ACL...again
  3. 3
    11 haunted hotels that you can stay in for the spookiest Halloween
  4. 4
    NHL acknowledges drug problem among players
  5. 5
    Oklahoma basketball: Buddy Hield picked as first-team preseason All-American
+ show more


× Trending ae Article