Wayman Tisdale Award to honor nation's top freshman

U.S. Basketball Writers Association will give college basketball's best first-year player an award named after the former Oklahoma star.
By John Rohde, Staff Writer, jrohde@opubco.com Modified: July 25, 2010 at 4:07 pm •  Published: July 24, 2010
The first order of business was to seek the approval of Tisdale's widow, Regina.

“Regina was very receptive,” Vick said. “She is very protective of Wayman, his life and what he stood for. Everything we do, she's aware of. She's a nice lady and we would never do anything without her knowledge.”

The Tisdale Award will raise money to support local charities. The Wayman Tisdale Charitable Foundation will be a direct beneficiary.

“There's been a lot of thought process to this and the people in charge are doing an outstanding job,” said Tubbs, who recently stepped down as Lamar athletic director and is in the process of moving back to Norman.

The Tisdale Award winner will receive a bronze statuette designed by sculptor Chan Gray. The award also will be presented at the annual Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame gala each May in Oklahoma City, where the winner and his coach will attend.

The Tisdale Award is in the spread-the-word stage and hopes to lure a national sponsor. The committee will hold fundraising projects that include a celebrity golf tournament and the gala.

“It's just kind of taken off,” Hill said. “So far, we haven't found anything that holds this back at all.”

Webb is business partners with former Oklahoma State golfing great Trip Kuehne, who will serve as director of the Tisdale Award advisory board. Invitations to join that board will commence Wednesday.

“Wayman's name, obviously, is pretty precious, and that's very helpful to us,” Hill said. “It was his name that got those (USBWA) guys to want to do it.”

The Tisdale Award will be the second national honor presented by the USBWA that is named after a person with Oklahoma ties.

The USBWA already has the Henry Iba Award recognizing the national coach of the year and awards the Oscar Robertson Trophy to the national player of the year.

| |


"Information for the Tisdale Award can be found at www.access-sports.net."

Trending Now


  1. 1
    For the children's sake, put down that smartphone
  2. 2
    Texas woman found buried beneath hail
  3. 3
    Denver 4/20 rally draws mellow crowd; police issue dozens of citations
  4. 4
    News 9: OKC family says raw sewage backing up in their yard
  5. 5
    KOCO: 19 years after Murrah bombing, grandmother shares story of loss, forgiveness
+ show more