Share “Who's on the infraction committee?”

Who's on the infraction committee?

Modified: July 12, 2007 at 11:33 am •  Published: July 12, 2007
He formerly served as chairman of Alabama's compliance committee.

•Thomas Phillips, attorney (Austin, Texas): Another of the committee's three public members, Phillips retired as chief justice of the Texas Supreme Court in 2004 after 17 years of service. Phillips was formerly the president of the Conference of Chief Justices.

•Bonnie Slatton, PE/sports science professor (University of Iowa): A former committee chair and sit-in member on the OU case, Slatton's tenure was marked by severe sanctions levied against Texas Tech in 1998 after the infractions committee found a lack of institutional control and failure to monitor in several cases involving the football and basketball programs, dating from 1990-1997.

•Dennis Thomas, commissioner (Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference): Before being named MEAC commissioner, Thomas served as athletic director at Hampton University, where he successfully led the athletics department from NCAA Division II to Division I.

By Blake Jackson has disabled the comments for this article.

Related Audio


  1. 1
    Tulsa man pleads guilty to murder for setting house fire that killed 5-year-old
  2. 2
    Police find hatchet, protective gear in house where Bever family members were slain
  3. 3
    Oklahoma City police: Two arrested after woman sexually assaulted in work freezer
  4. 4
    OU football fans among Top 10 ... in grammar
  5. 5
    Wrestling legend Jimmy 'Superfly' Snuka charged in girlfriend's 1983 death
+ show more


× Trending ou Article