Share “Why player safety is such an important...”

Why player safety is such an important part of the 10-second proposal argument

by Jason Kersey Published: February 22, 2014

photo - Arkansas coach Bret Bielema talks to an official during the second half of an NCAA college football game against the Auburn, in Fayetteville, Ark., Saturday, Nov. 2, 2013. Auburn won 35-17. (AP Photo/Beth Hall)
Arkansas coach Bret Bielema talks to an official during the second half of an NCAA college football game against the Auburn, in Fayetteville, Ark., Saturday, Nov. 2, 2013. Auburn won 35-17. (AP Photo/Beth Hall)

Arkansas' Bret Bielema and Alabama's Nick Saban can't win their crusade to slow college football down — in time for the 2014 season, at least — without making it about player safety.

The NCAA allows new rules in even-numbered years only when there is a safety concern, a fact that might help explain why Bielema suggested lives were at stake in defense of the proposal that would force offenses to wait 10 seconds before snapping the ball, except in the final two minutes of each half.

The Playing Rules Oversight Panel will vote March 6 on whether to adopt the proposal, which was approved less than two weeks ago by the NCAA's Football Rules Committee.

Many of the coaches who have been critical of the proposal are questioning its true intentions, noting that little-to-no evidence exists that would prove there is a legitimate safety issue.

“So many of those particulars don't make sense,” OU coach Bob Stoops said. “On top of the fact that there's no statistical evidence whatsoever that shows it's not as safe as those who huddle.

“I believe it is for more strategical purposes than anything.”

Bielema and Saban each run more traditional, slower-paced offenses, and have had some difficulty against the recent influx of no-huddle attacks into the Southeastern Conference.

Saban's only losses the past three seasons came to Texas A&M, Auburn and Oklahoma, all of which run up-tempo offenses.

Bielema just completed his first season in the SEC after seven years coaching Wisconsin in the less-speedy Big Ten Conference.

Texas A&M coach Kevin Sumlin called the proposal “an attempt to limit the creativity of the game,” in an interview with USA Today.

According to some reports, the idea for the 10-second rule stemmed from discussions at the American Football Coaches Association convention last month.

Cincinnati coach Tommy Tuberville, though, who serves on the AFCA board, told The Associated Press that the proposal wasn't discussed at the convention.

The Football Rules Committee approved the proposal Feb. 13, and in a statement announcing it, committee chair Troy Calhoun cited player safety as the reason.

Continue reading this story on the...

by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more

NCAA Football Rules Committee

The NCAA Football Rules Committee voted Feb. 12 to approve the 10-second proposal to allow more defensive substitutions and slow down offenses.

Here is a look at the 13 members of the committee.

Troy Calhoun: Air Force head coach and committee chair

Todd Berry: Louisiana-Monroe head coach 

Alfred White: Conference USA associate commissioner

Ken Beazer: Southern Utah athletic director (Football Championship Subdivision)

Thomas Yeager: Colonial Athletic Association commissioner (FCS)

Robert Nielson: Western Illinois coach (FCS)

David Sharp: Ouachita Baptist athletic director (Division II)

Keith Allen: Southwest Baptist coach (Division II)

Peter Rossomando: New Haven coach (Division II)

Gregory Wallace: Grinnell College athletic director (Division III)

Michael Mattia: Johns Hopkins associate athletic director (Division III)

Brian Surace: Fairleigh Dickinson coach (Division III)

Playing Rules Oversight Panel

The Playing Rules Oversight Panel (PROP) will decide March 6 rather to approve or deny the Football Rules Committee proposal to slow down college football. 

Here is a look at the 11 PROP members.

Jon Steinbrecher: Mid-American Conference commissioner

Larry Scott: Pacific-12 Conference commissioner

Shelley Appelbaum: Michigan State senior women's administrator

Derita Ratcliffe: University of Alabama-Birmingham senior associate athletic director

Jeff Hurd: Western Athletic Conference commissioner

Noreen Morris: Northeast Conference commissioner (FCS)

Lisa Sweany: Armstrong Atlantic State athletic director (Division II)

Kristy Bayer: Arkansas Tech assistant athletic director (Division II)

Doug Zipp: Shenandoah University athletic director (Division III) 

Lynn Oberbillig: Smith College athletic director (Division III)

Sue E. Lauder: Fitchburg State athletic director (Division III)


  1. 1
    Amazon Is Developing a Galaxy Quest TV Show
  2. 2
    'Les Miserables' actor Kyle Jean-Baptiste dies after fall -
  3. 3
    VICE: It's Time to Accept Video Games As Art
  4. 4
    What if your boss paid you to have life experiences for 3 months?
  5. 5
    Study: Sometimes the 'irrational' choice is the best one
+ show more


× Trending ou Article