Share “Winning a Heisman and going No. 1”

Winning a Heisman and going No. 1

Compiled by Jake Trotter Modified: April 22, 2010 at 5:04 am •  Published: April 22, 2010
Oklahoma’s Sam Bradford is the ninth Heisman Trophy winner to be picked No. 1 overall in the NFL Draft. A look at the previous eight with the year they won the Heisman and the year they went No. 1:

Player, School (Year) NFL team (Year)
O.J. Simpson, USC (1968) Buffalo (1969)
Jim Plunkett, Stanford (1970) New England (1971)
Earl Campbell, Texas (1977) Houston (1978)
Billy Sims, Oklahoma (1978) Detroit (1980)
George Rogers, S. Carolina (1980) New Orleans (1981)
Bo Jackson, Auburn (1985) Tampa Bay (1986)
Vinny Testaverde, Miami (1986) Tampa Bay (1987)
Carson Palmer, USC (2002) Cincinnati (2003)


  1. 1
    Tulsa-based Williams Cos. outlines policy for possible layoffs
  2. 2
    Vinita letter carrier saves girl from burning building, gets award
  3. 3
    Emails from Gov. Fallin's office show state agencies' struggle to respond to scrutiny over execution
  4. 4
    Planned anti-Muslim protests fizzle in Oklahoma, elsewhere
  5. 5
    Fuel tank explodes in fire at Owasso rock quarry; three firefighters hurt
+ show more


× Trending sports Article