Winston among 5 finalists for Walter Camp award

Published on NewsOK Modified: December 4, 2013 at 5:37 pm •  Published: December 4, 2013

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (AP) — Florida State's Jameis Winston, Alabama's AJ McCarron and Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel are among the five finalists for the Walter Camp player of the year award.

Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch and Boston College running back Andre Williams are the other finalists for the award presented by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Winston is the leading contender for the Heisman Trophy, but he has also been accused of a sexual assault and been under investigation by law enforcement in Florida. Prosecutors announced Wednesday that a decision on whether to charge Winston in the case will be announced Thursday.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o won the Walter Camp player of the year award last year.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Facebook Post Saves Drowning Teen
  2. 2
    Saturday's front page of the New York Times sports section is simple: LeBron James and transactions
  3. 3
    The 19th-century health scare that told women to worry about "bicycle face"
  4. 4
    Sex Valley: Tech's booming prostitution trade
  5. 5
    Colorado Is Consuming Way More Pot Than Anyone Ever Believed
+ show more