Word Balloons: Eisner Award nominees have ties to Oklahoma

by Matthew Price Published: April 10, 2009

/> "Omega the Unknown,” written by novelist Jonathan Lethem, was drawn and lettered by former Tulsan Farel Dalrymple. Dalrymple received a nomination for his lettering, and "Omega the Unknown” was nominated for best limited series.

The Eisner Awards will be presented July 24 at Comic-Con International in San Diego.

The Eisner Awards are named for Will Eisner, creator of "The Spirit.”

The nominees were selected by a panel of judges: Amanda Emmert, owner of Muse Comics & Games in Missoula, Mont.; Mike Pawuk, teen services public librarian for the Cuyahoga County (Ohio) Public Library; John Shableski, Diamond Book Distributors sales manager; Ben Towle, graphic novelist and comics arts educator; and Andrew Wheeler, comics and manga reviewer at ComixMix.com.

by Matthew Price
Features Editor
Features Editor Matthew Price has worked for The Oklahoman since 2000. He’s a University of Oklahoma graduate who has also worked at the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette and was a Dow Jones Newspaper Fund intern for the Dallas Morning News. He’s...
+ show more

See a complete list of nominees.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Texas A&M fan wearing what appears to be a chain mail jersey
  2. 2
    Satanic black mass seeks to free people from influence of God, organizer says
  3. 3
    Owasso beats Jenks for first time since 1993; Union rolls past BA
  4. 4
    Tulsa police officer recounts saving man from dog mauling
  5. 5
    Missing Tulsa pilot, plane found after authorities narrowed the search
+ show more