Defending champion Spain gets repeat of 2010 final

Published on NewsOK Modified: December 6, 2013 at 3:44 pm •  Published: December 6, 2013

COSTA DO SAUIPE, Brazil (AP) — One of the worst finals in World Cup history — Spain vs. the Netherlands — will be reprised in one of the first games of the 2014 edition.

Friday's draw proved kind for host nation Brazil.

It also put three former winners — Italy, Uruguay and England — together in one daunting group.

The United States drew one of the shortest straws. Its game schedule will send Jurgen Klinsmann's team pinging around on a 9,000-mile trip across the world's fifth-largest country.

Having only squeezed into the tournament via a playoff, 1998 winner France could hardly believe its luck, drawing a manageable group of Switzerland, Ecuador, and Honduras.

Two-time champ Argentina first plays Bosnia-Herzegovina, the only World Cup newcomer among the 32 teams. After that game in Rio de Janeiro, four-time world player of the year Lionel Messi and his teammates play Iran and Nigeria. In six previous World Cup encounters, Nigeria has beaten Argentina just once.

Argentina will be heavily favored to win Group F. If so, it could play Switzerland or France in its first knockout game.

Defending champion Spain and the Netherlands, a three-time finalist, open against each other on June 13. Hopefully, it won't be a repeat of the horror show that was the 2010 final, when referee Howard Webb showed a record 14 yellow cards. The Netherlands was blamed for most of the dirty play.

"The history of the final is also a challenge to do it better," Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal said.

The second-place team in Group B, which also includes Chile and Australia, is likely to meet Brazil in the first knockout game.

Spain coach Vincent del Bosque warned against underestimating Chile: "Their style of play is very impressive, they make it very uncomfortable for opponents."

England's first match will be in the heat and humidity of the Amazon basin, which coach Roy Hodgson was anxious to avoid. That night game in the Amazon city of Manaus pits the 1966 champion against Italy, a four-time winner.

Both will have to play their best to advance from Group D, which includes 2010 semifinalist and two-time champion Uruguay and Costa Rica.

"In Italy and Uruguay it's almost as though we have got two number one seeds in our group," Hodgson said.

England could also face hostility from the crowd in Manaus, after Hodgson voiced concerns about the climate. The mayor took offense, saying before the draw: "We hope to get a better team and a coach who is more sensible and polite."

Brazil kicks off its campaign for a sixth World Cup title with the opening match on June 12 against Croatia. That could be a daunting experience for the Croats. Full-throated support from home fans helped lift Brazil at the Confederations Cup warm-up tournament in June, where it beat world champion Spain in the final.

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Argentina midfielder Javier Mascherano says he tore anus during World Cup semifinal against...
  2. 2
    No Charges For Police Who Killed Woman After D.C. Chase : The Two-Way : NPR
  3. 3
    OSU softball: Tracie Adix-Zins hired as Cowgirls pitching coach
  4. 4
    South Tulsa Costco plans get green light from Planning Commission
  5. 5
    Man Who Stole $460K in Quarters Must Return Only Half
+ show more