Oklahoma football: Cornerback Zack Sanchez lands on 2014 Jim Thorpe Award preseason watch list

by Jason Kersey Published: July 11, 2014


NORMAN — Oklahoma sophomore cornerback Zack Sanchez is one of 39 players listed on the watch list for the 2014 Jim Thorpe Award, given each year to college football’s best defensive back.

Sanchez joins TCU senior Sam Carter and Texas senior Quandre Diggs as the three Big 12 defensive backs to appear on the Thorpe watch list, which was released Friday morning.

The preseason watch list is not final, so defensive backs who excel on the field can be added throughout the season. The award winner will be selected from three finalists and announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 11 on ESPN.

The 2014 winner will be honored at the Jim Thorpe Award Banquet on Tuesday, Feb. 3, 2015 in Oklahoma City.

Sanchez was named a Freshman All-American by the Football Writers Association of America after last season, when he started all 13 of Oklahoma’s games, intercepted two passes and broke up another 13.

He’ll look to become the fourth Oklahoma defensive back to win the prestigious award, joining Rickey Dixon (1987), Roy Williams (2001) and Derrick Strait (2003).

Here is a look at the full 2014 Jim Thorpe Award Preseason Watch List:
Kevin Byard, Middle Tenn, Jr.
Bryce Callahan, Rice, Sr.
Ibraheim Campbell, Northwestern, Sr.
Sam Carter, TCU, Sr.
Jeremy Cash, Duke, Jr.
Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan, Sr.
Landon Collins, Alabama, Jr.
Blake Countess, Michigan, Jr.
Su’a Cravens, USC, So.
Donte Deayon, Boise State, Jr.
Quandre Diggs, Texas, Sr.
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, Jr.
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, Sr.
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, Sr.
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, So.
Clayton Geathers, UCF, Sr.
Jacoby Glenn, UCF, So.
Vernon Hargreaves, Florida, So.
Anthony Harris, Virginia, Sr.
Rocky Hayes, Arkansas State, Jr.
Jeremy Ioane, Boise State, Sr.
Jordan Lucas, Penn State, Jr.
Marcus Peters, Washington, Jr.
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, Sr.
Jalen Ramsey, Florida State, So.
Jordan Richards, Stanford, Sr.
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, So.
Derron Smith, Fresno State, Sr.
D’Joun Smith, Florida Atlantic, Sr.
Trevon Stewart, Houston, Jr.
Brian Suite, Utah State, Sr.
Cam Thomas, WKU, Sr.
Triston Wade, UTSA, Sr.
Ryland Ward, Bowling Green, Jr.
Trae Waynes, Michigan State, Jr.
Tre’Davious White, LSU, So.
J.J. Whittaker, San Diego State, Sr.
PJ Williams, Florida State, Jr.
Sterling Young, Arkansas State, Sr.

   Please Login to your Facebook account to see comments
by Jason Kersey
OU Sports Reporter
Jason Kersey became The Oklahoman's OU football beat writer in May 2012 after a year covering high school sports and OSU recruiting. Before joining the newspaper in November 2006 as a part-time results clerk, he covered high school football for...
+ show more

Trending Now


  1. 1
    Oklahoma Highway Patrol trooper accused of rape resigns
  2. 2
    Kevin Durant plans on playing for Team USA basketball in 2016
  3. 3
    The most popular NFL jersey in Oklahoma
  4. 4
    Report: Astros to hire former Oklahoma high school star A.J. Hinch as manager
  5. 5
    Ron Gardenhire fired as Twins manager
+ show more